Zac Fields and Jacob Powers of Camden Hills of Rockport and Zach Poirier of Dexter were among the individual champions crowned at the 2010 Maine Amateur Wrestling Alliance All-Star Tournament held at the Bath Middle School.

The all-class meet featured 27 of the 42 individual champions crowned at the state meets for Classes A, B and C, including 12 of the 14 Class C state champions.

Fields, the two-time Class B state champion at 130 pounds, decisioned Class C state champion Mike McNamara of Lisbon 3-1 in overtime to win the all-class 130-pound crown.

Powers, the Class B state champion at 160 pounds, pinned Tristan Ripley of Mount View of Thorndike in 5 minutes, 15 seconds in a rematch of their state final to win the all-class title in the same weight class.

Poirier, who finished second at 285 pounds in the Class C state meet, outpointed Class A state champion Henry Chandler of Mount Ararat of Topsham 7-3 in the championship match of their weight class.

Other all-class champions were Connor Sheehan of Fryeburg Academy (103), Jake Raske of Marshwood of Eliot (112), Josh Pomerleau of Lisbon (119), Matt DelGallo of Gardiner (125), Matt Nicholson of Lisbon (135), Will Lundquist of Cony of Augusta (140), Ben Valencia of Noble of North Berwick (145), Max Alfiero of Bonny Eagle of Standish (152), Steve Martin of Bonny Eagle (171), Tyler Russell of Morse of Bath (189), and Joe Doughty of Lisbon (215).

Lundquist was named the meet’s outstanding wrestler 140 pound or lower, while Russell was named outstanding wrestler 145 pounds or more.

Class C state champion Lisbon won the team title with 115.5 points, with Noble (80.5), Camden Hills (73), Marshwood (51) and Dexter (49) rounding out the top five. Thirty-six schools were represented at the meet.

Among other Eastern Maine competitors, Brent Waterman of Belfast (119), Scott Carpenter of Calais (125), Patrick Hapworth of Maine Central Institute in Pittsfield and Doug Richardson of Dexter (189) each placed second in his weight class.

Coleman Powers of Camden Hills was third in the 103-pound class, while Mark Smith of Foxcroft Academy (103), Tom Cassidy of Camden Hills (125), Wesley Stinson of Foxcroft (135), Jordan Fogg of Bucksport (145), R.J. Muir of Camden Hills (152), Lee Gustin of Dexter (160) and Zachary Ragot of Washington Academy of East Machias (215) each finished fourth.

All weight-class winners from the Maine high school state championships held Feb. 13 are eligible to compete in the 46th annual New England Interscholastic Wrestling Championships to be held March 5-6 at Hillhouse High School in New Haven, Conn.

Ernie Clark

Ernie Clark

Ernie Clark is a veteran sportswriter who has worked with the Bangor Daily News for more than a decade. A four-time Maine Sportswriter of the Year as selected by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters...