AUGUSTA, Maine — A Caribou resident and a Bar Harbor resident have been nominated to the University of Maine System board of trustees.

Gov. John E. Baldacci announced the nominations of Samuel Collins and Michelle Hood, along with Benjamin Goodman, as new appointees to the system’s board, while current board members Paul Mitchell and Victoria Murphy were nominated for reappointment.

Baldacci also announced Monday the reappointment of Robert Clark of Fort Fairfield, along with Dennis King and Cynthia Phinney, to the Maine Community College System. New nominees are Kenneth Hoeflick and Christopher McCormick, the president and CEO of L.L. Bean.

The nominations must be reviewed by the Joint Standing Committee on Education and Cultural Affairs and confirmed by the Senate.

Collins, a resident of Caribou, has worked at S.W. Collins Co. for 29 years. He serves as a director of the University of Maine at Presque Isle Foundation, MMG Insurance Co. and the Aroostook Federal Savings & Loan. He is also a past chairman of the Caribou School Board and from 2007 to 2009 was a co-chairman of the regional committee for school consolidation.

A Bar Harbor resident, Hood has served as president and CEO of Eastern Maine Healthcare Systems for four years. She also has served on the board of visitors of the University of Maine and is a member of the Governor’s Council on Competitiveness and the Economy.

Goodman of Kennebunk would serve as a student member of the board of trustees. He is a member of the UMaine Class of 2012. Mitchell of Waterville and Murphy of Portland have served one term each on the UMS board of trustees.

Clark, who lives in Fort Fairfield, has been executive director of the Northern Maine Development Commission for the past 20 years. King of Freeport is a former president and CEO of The Acadia Hospital.

Phinney resides in Livermore Falls, McCormick is from Cumberland Foreside, and Hoeflick resides in Standish.