June 01, 2020
Ernie Clark Latest News | Coronavirus | Bangor Metro | Two Rivers | Today's Paper

Western Maine semifinalists announced for Mr. and Miss Basketball

Western Maine semifinalists for the state’s Mr. and Miss Basketball were announced Thursday during press conferences at the Augusta Civic Center and the Cumberland County Civic Center in Portland.

Six boys and five girls were named from Western Maine schools to go with the four boys and four girls announced Wednesday as Eastern Maine semifinalists for the award, which honors the top senior high school basketball players in the state.

Named as Western Maine finalists for Mr. Basketball were Tyler Chiasson of Dirigo of Dixfield, Indiana Faithfull of Cheverus of Portland, Keegan Hyland of South Portland, Stefano Mancini of Falmouth and Dominic Borelli and Nich Jobin, both of Westbrook.

Hyland, generally considered the top player in the state heading into his senior season, played just one regular-season game and two postseason games for South Portland due to injury. South Portland lost to Westbrook in Wednesday night’s Western A semifinals.

Faithfull also missed five games this season after the Australian native was ruled ineligible by the Maine Principals’ Association under its eight-semester rule. But Faithfull’s family received a temporary restraining order enabling him to play just before the start of the tournament, and Faithfull has led Cheverus to a berth in the Western A final against Westbrook.

The Western Maine Mr. Basketball semifinalists join Eastern Maine honorees Dom Drake of Brewer, Jacob Moore of Hampden Academy, Clark Noonan of Bangor and James Philbrook of Edward Little of Auburn.

Miss Basketball semifinalists from Western Maine are Lauren Rousseau of Biddeford, Claire Ramonas of Deering of Portland, Abby Young of Greely of Cumberland Center, Christy Manning of Scarborough and Morgan Woodhouse of Waynflete of Portland.

They join Eastern Maine semifinalists Vanessa Sanderson of Houlton, Jen Nale of Waterville, Kirsten Prue of Edward Little, Hannah Dexter of Messalonskee of Oakland and Hannah Fenwick of Mount Ararat of Topsham.

Prue missed her team’s final five games of the season due to a foot injury.

Finalists for the Mr. and Miss Basketball award will be announced shortly after the end of the state high school basketball tournament, with the announcement of this year’s winners to come during the Maine McDonald’s senior all-star banquet to be held Friday, March 12, at Newman Gymnasium on the campus of Husson Uni-versity in Bangor.

Scholar-athletes honored

Also named by the Maine Association of Basketball Coaches this week were the 2010 Maine McDonald’s Senior All-State Academic Teams.

Named to the girls squad were Gabrielle Donahue of Cape Elizabeth, Chelsea Hartin and Brianna Hartin of Central Aroostook of Mars Hill, Katelyn Day of Central of Corinth, Meghan Keane of Foxcroft Academy of Dover-Foxcroft, Laura Getchell of Gray-New Gloucester, Morgan McClean of Lake Region of Naples, Lindsey Gori of Marshwood of Eliot, Caitlin Hanley of Oxford Hills of South Paris, and Kelsey Ouellette of Winthrop.

On the boys all-academic team are Kyle Randall of Cheverus of Portland, Ben Guido of Lee Academy, Thomas Ventrella of Livermore Falls, Zach Sweet of Madison, Sam Poulin of Maranacook of Readfield, Michael Walton of Morse of Bath, James McDermott of Old Orchard Beach, Greg Reinhold of South Portland, Derrick Porter of Washington Academy of East Machias, and Garrett Clemmer of Windham.

To be eligible for the all-academic, a student-athlete must achieve a grade-point average of 90 for seven consecutive semesters, be a member of their school’s varsity basketball team for two complete seasons, and make a significant contribution to their team during the 2009-10 season.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like