June 01, 2020
High School Sports Latest News | Coronavirus | Bangor Metro | Two Rivers | Today's Paper

Lisbon takes crown in ‘C,’ PVHS is 2nd

Lisbon claimed the Class C title while Noble took home the Class A crown during state championship wrestling action held Saturday.

The Greyhounds scored 190 points to earn a solid victory in the Class C competition over runner-up Penobscot Valley of Howland, which scored 141, and third-place host team Dexter (121).

The host Knights claimed their second straight Class A crown. Noble tallied 135.5 points to best runner-up Massabesic of Waterboro (111) and Bonny Eagle of Standish (106).

In the Class C competition at Dexter, six Lisbon athletes claimed state individual titles to lead the Greyhounds to the team championship.

Forrest Cornell (112 pounds), Josh Pomerleau (119), Mike McNamara (130), Matt Nicholson (135), Marcus Bubar (145) and Joe Doughty (215) all earned first-place honors, while Art Stambach was the runner-up at 189 pounds.

Dirigo of Dixfield (117.5 points), Bucksport (75) and Foxcroft Academy (72) rounded out the top five. They were followed by Fort Kent (58), Washington Academy of East Machias (53), Calais (49), Monmouth Academy (46), Madison (27), Hall-Dale (20), George Stevens Academy of Blue Hill (19), John Bapst of Bangor (19), Mattanawcook Academy of Lincoln (18), Piscataquis Community of Guilford (18), Winthrop (17), Madawaska and Stearns of Millinocket (3), Traip Academy of Kittery (2) and Woodland (1).

Calvary Chapel Christian of Orrington and Orono did not post team scores.

Penobscot Valley finished as the state runner-up behind a list of nine wrestlers who qualified for the championship and consolation rounds.

C.J. Stratton was the Howlers’ top performer as he decisioned Zachary Poirier of Dexter 6-4 in the 285-pound division. Zack Lafreniere was the runner-up at 130 pounds, while Tony Jipson took second at 215 pounds.

Kalob Raymond (140) was a consolation winner, while David Sirois (112), Greg Rowley (135), Nathan Philbrook (152) and Nelson Keyser (160) were fourth-place finishers.

Doug Richardson was the catalyst for third-place Dexter with his 9-4 decision over Stambach in the 189-pound championship. Vincent Malinauskas (112), Andrew Levenselor (125) and Zachary Poirier (285) were state runners-up for the Tigers.

Eastern Maine produced six individual champions, two of which hail from Calais. Scott Carpenter took top honors at 125 pounds with a 12-1 major decision over Levensellor, while Spencer McCormick won at 152, taking a 4-3 decision over David Glidden of Washington Academy.

Mark Smith of Foxcroft Academy claimed the 103-pound title with a 2-1 win over Brett Whittemore of Dirigo and River Robertson of Bucksport won the 171-pound championship, pinning Kyle Bell-Colfer of Hall-Dale at 6:28.

In the Class A meet at North Berwick, four wrestlers won individual titles to spearhead Noble’s drive to the championship.

Tyler Beaudet won the 130-pound class, Jake Bagley took top honors at 135 pounds, Joseph Badger won the 140-pound crown and Ben Valencia annexed the 145-pound title.

The Knights also placed Ken Hagen (125) in the championship finals, while two others finished third overall.

Westbrook finished fourth with 83.5 points, followed by Marshwood of Eliot (72), Cony of Augusta (71), Mount Ararat of Topsham (55.5), Skowhegan (49.5), Kennebunk (41), Deering of Portland (39.5), Mt. Blue of Farmington (27), Sanford (22), Windham (16), Brunswick (15.5), Cheverus of Portland (10), Scarborough (8), Erskine Academy of South China (6) and Oxford Hills of South Paris (3.5).

Thomas Vallee earned the individual title at 189 pounds to help Cony finish sixth. Jake Sylvain of Skowhegan was the runner-up at 145 and Brandon Corson finished second at 152.



Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like