Of the NEWS Staff

PITTSFIELD – The Camden Hills of Rockport wrestling team sailed to its first Eastern Maine Class B championship in three years Saturday at Wright Gymnasium on the campus of Maine Central Institute.

The Windjammers got top-four finishes from 12 wrestlers – including five individual champions – while totaling 221.5 points.
Two-time defending champion Belfast finished a solid second with 155 points, with Caribou (129), Ellsworth (129) and host MCI (98.5) rounding out the top five in the 13-school field.

Coach Levi Rollins’ Camden Hills team thrived in the lower- and middle-weight classes, getting individual championships from Coleman Powers (103 pounds), Zach Fields (130), Brandon Rich (140), R.J. Muir (152) and Jacob Powers (160).

Powers scored his 100th career victory in his final, a 7-1 victory over Tristan Ripley of Mount View of Thorndike, while Rich earned his 100th win with a first-round pin over Chelsea Johnson of Mount Desert Island.

Calen Bragg (119), Tom Cassidy (125) and Brandon Graffam (189) each finished second for the Windjammers.

Rhett Chase (215) won his consolation final to place third for Camden Hills, while Max Bragg (135), Neal Harrison (145) and Anthony Batty each placed fourth.

Belfast scored three individual victories in its second-place effort, with Jordan Young winning at 112 pounds, Evan Waterman at 119 and Justin Boyle at 285.

Caribou and Medomak Valley of Waldoboro also produced multiple winners. Caribou freshman Brendan Wood won the 125-pound title in buzzer-beating fashion with a pin of Camden Hills’ Cassidy as time expired in the third period, and teammate Deion Caudill, a sophomore, earned the 189-pound crown.
Medomak Valley senior Steven Genthner began the day needing just one win to tie the school record of 108 career wins, and he scored three straight wins to win the 145-pound division and set a school standard of 110 victories. Also winning for the Panthers was Trevor Neilson at 171.

Old Town’s Lee Larry won the 215-pound crown and set a school record in the process with his 107th career victory – one better than the former mark of 106 set by Coyotes’ coach Allen Avery during his senior season in 2004.

Hermon’s Ryan Botting won the 135-pound crown, earning a 15-5 major decision over Phil Kyser of Georges Valley of Thomaston in their final. Brandon Burgess added a second for the Hawks at 145.

Ellsworth did not have an individual champion, but the Eagles continued their strong postseason run with seven top-four finishes, including seconds from Brandon Gonclaves (112) and Jared Sargent (215).

MCI was led by second-place finishes from Chris Ouellett (140), Revelin Goewey (152) and Patrick Hapworth (171).