June 24, 2018
High School Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Border Patrol | Energy Scam | Toxic Moths

MPA announces A, D soccer sites


Game sites for Saturday’s state championship soccer matches in Classes A and D were announced Tuesday by Mike Burnham, assistant executive director for the Maine Principals’ Association.

The Class A finals will be played at Scarborough High School, while the Class D matches will be held at Hampden Academy.

The boys match in each class will be played at 10 a.m., followed by the girls match at 12:30 p.m.

Those sites — both artificial-turf facilities — were selected to host state championship matches earlier this year, with each site to host state finals in two classes in a Championship Saturday format of sorts.

The move toward playing all the state finals on turf was made to address field condition issues that have cropped up in recent years.

Last season, for instance, the Class A state finals, including the boys game between Bangor and Scarborough, were played amid drizzle and muddy conditions on McMann Field in Bath.

Members of the MPA’s soccer committee agreed to the two-site concept last winter, and the specific sites — one northern and one southern — were announced in August.

Ironically, staging the Class A finals at Scarborough could mean a home game for the defending state champion Scarborough boys team, which is undefeated and top-ranked in Western A entering Wednesday’s regional final against Windham.

The East squads, though, will be designated as home teams for the Class A and Class D state finals.

Decisions on the Class B and C sites will not be determined until after Wednesday’s regional finals are played.

Maine Heisman finalists named

Twenty of Maine’s top scholar-athletes have been recognized as state finalists for the 2009 Wendy’s High School Heisman Award program.

One male and one female will be selected as the state winners this Saturday. National finalists will be honored Dec. 11 during a televised ceremony on ESPN2 and receive a gold medal and a $2,000 award for their high schools.

One male and one female national winner will receive a Wendy’s High School Heisman trophy and Wendy’s will donate $10,000 to each winner’s respective high school. The winners also will be recognized Dec. 12 during the collegiate Heisman Trophy broadcast on ESPN.

State finalists for the 2009 Wendy’s High School Heisman Award include Maddie Smeaton of Camden Hills of Rockport, Michelle Ferrie of Central of Corinth, Alexander Keefe of Ellsworth, Chloe Taub of Ellsworth, Alyssa Ouellette of Fort Kent, Sam Chasse of Fort Kent, Meghan Burnett of Hermon, Terrell Carver of Jonesport-Beals, Fayranne Lipton of Machias, Zach Babin of Mount View of Thorndike, Emily Lovejoy of Old Town, Robert Bickford of Old Town, Ashley Pennartz of Sumner of East Sullivan, Bryce Colbeth of Washington Academy of East Machias, and Deliya Michaud of Wisdom of Saint Agatha.

Also, Christopher Low of Lawrence of Fairfield, Thomas Ventrella of Livermore Falls, Zach Sweet of Madison, Ben Comeau of Massabesic of Waterboro, and Rebecca Bonnett of Morse of Bath.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like