February 28, 2020
Living Latest News | Big White Perch | Bangor Metro | ICE Facility | Today's Paper

Maine Literary Awards winners selected

Maine Writers & Publishers Alliance announces the winners of the 2009 Maine Literary Awards. These awards began in 2006 to recognize Maine’s literary talent and include honors for the finest published and unpublished writing.

The public award ceremony will be held at 7 p.m. Wednesday, April 22, in the Glickman Family Library on the Portland campus of the University of Southern Maine.

The 2009 Maine Literary Award winners are as follows:

— Published books, fiction: Roxana Robinson, “Cost.”

— Published books, nonfiction: “Lincoln, The Biography of a Writer” by Fred Kaplan. Honorable mentions: “Full Fathom Five: A Daughters Search” by Mary Lee Coe Fowler; “A Healing Touch — True Stories of Life, Death and Hospice” edited by Richard Russo; “Slippery Men” by Penelope Schwartz Robinson.

— Published books, children’s-young adult: “Brett McCarthy: Work in Progress” by Maria Padian. Honorable mentions: “The Unnameables” by Ellen Booraem; “The Dump Man’s Treasures” by Lynn Plourde, illustrated by Mary Beth Owens; “Give a Goat” by Jan West Schrock, illustrated by Aileen Darragh.

— Published books, poetry: Jane Mead, “The Usable Field.” Honorable mentions: Lee Sharkey, “A Darker, Sweeter String”; Lia Purpura, “King Baby”; Idra Novey, “The Next Country.”

— Published books, self-published: Linda Tatelbaum, “Woman Who Speaks Tree.”

— Maine themed: “A Place Called Maine” edited by Wesley McNair. Honorable mentions: Sarah Sherman McGrail, “Harbor Journal Vol. II”; Joshua F. Moore, “What’s in a Picture?”

Individual awards

— Fiction: Karin Eberhardt, “Getting to Wonderland.” Honorable mentions: Susan Casey, “Rose Thorn Sisters”; Joal Hetherington, “House of Words.”

— Nonfiction: Elizabeth W. Garber, “Stones.” Honorable mention: Thomas R. Moore, “My Father’s Houses.”

— Poetry: “Either Oar” by Joal Hetherington. Honorable mentions: “Perfecting Her Art” by Karyn Lie-Nielson; “Even After the Cyclone” by Karin Eberhardt.

— Youth fiction: “Waiting at Wellie’s” by Lindsey Sinicki.

— Youth poetry: Honor Wilkinson for both “The Heap” and “The Treasure Box”; honorable mention: Sophia Carbonnea for “How to Be in a Play.”

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like