Lucas Marks of Trenton and Ian Edwards of Bangor earned top honors Tuesday evening as the 2008 American Legion Zone 1 baseball all-star teams were selected by the league’ s coaches.

Marks, a catcher, was named the Zone 1 player of the year for leading the Acadians to a 14-6 regular-season and the No. 3 seed for the zone tournament that begins Friday afternoon at the Winkin Baseball Complex on the campus of Husson College in Bangor.

A 2008 graduate of George Stevens Academy in Blue Hill, Marks batted a robust .508 with five home runs, 28 RBIs, eight doubles, a triple and 12 stolen bases.

Marks is the second straight Acadian to be named Zone 1 player of the year, as pitcher-first baseman Collin Henry earned the same honor a year ago.

Edwards, a righthander, shook off a nagging hamstring injury at the start of the summer to emerge as the zone’ s top pitcher.

The 2008 Bangor High School graduate went 5-0 with one save and a 1.82 earned run average, and the Bowdoin College-bound Edwards also displayed pinpoint control with 39 strikeouts and just four walks in 27 innings.

Bill Gray of Trenton was named Zone 1 coach of the year for the second straight season after guiding the Acadians to their solid regular season, which included two seven-game winning streaks.

Regular season champion Brewer led all teams with eight all-Zone 1 honorees, including four first-team selections.

Falcons on the first team were pitcher Jim Nicknair (4-0, 2.16 ERA, 39 strikeouts in 32? innings), first baseman Prentiss Swett (.441 batting average, 30 hits, 30 RBI, 27 runs) and outfielders Eric White (.544, 31 H, 20 RBI) and Bill Bissell (.353, 7 HR, 27 RBIs, 28 R).

Zone runner-up Bangor also had four first-team choices in Edwards, catcher Gordon Webb (.570, 45 hits, 36 RBI, 25 runs), third baseman Shane Walton (.350, 28 hits, 24 RBI, 25 runs) and outfielder Kyle Vanidestine (.290, 22 hits, 16 RBI, 12 stolen bases).

Trenton, Steamboat Petroleum of Waldo County and Orono each had two first-team choices.

Designated hitter Calvin Tweedie (.407, 28 hits, 4 HR, 28 RBI) joined Marks on the first team for Trenton, while shortstop Jake Arthers (.456, 26 hits, 4 HR, 19 RBI) and pitcher Nate Adams (4-0, 3.72 ERA) represent Steamboat Petroleum and second baseman Jason Smith (.470, 6 HR, 25 runs, 10 SB) and utility player Dana Leland (.430, 3 HR, 17 RBI) represent Orono.

Rounding out the first team are Penquis pitcher Dan Beatham (3-2, 1.48 ERA, 16 hits (14 singles) allowed in 33 IP, 3 complete games), Lincoln pitcher Peter Coggins (4-2, 1 save, 3.16 ERA, 47 strikeouts) and Calais utility player Scott Geel (.385, 2 HR, 17 RBI, 18 runs).

Webb, Edwards and Walton are the only repeat first-team honorees from a year ago.