Press Release

27th annual Hartman Awards to honor Maine women

ORONO, Maine — The University of Maine Women in the Curriculum and Women’s Studies Program will honor distinguished Maine women with the Maryann Hartman Awards 5-7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 30, in Buchanan Alumni House, near Chadbourne Hall and the Newman Center.

Honored will be:

* Jennifer Finney Boylan for her creative writing and transgender activism.

* Elinor Goldberg for her leadership in the Maine Children’s Alliance and its service to children.

* Merlene Sanborn for her work to develop employment-related education in the Penquis region.

Also honored will be JoAnn Bourque who will receive the Young Women’s Social Justice Award.

For information, go to or call 207-581-1228.


No Further Information is Available