From the community

Rehearsal Space, Dance and Conversation

Posted June 17, 2014, at 11:39 a.m.

Tuesday, June 17, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Wednesday, June 18, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Thursday, June 19, 2014 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Friday, June 20, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Saturday, June 21, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday, June 22, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Wednesday, June 25, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Thursday, June 26, 2014 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Friday, June 27, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Saturday, June 28, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday, June 29, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Wednesday, July 2, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Thursday, July 3, 2014 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Saturday, July 5, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday, July 6, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Wednesday, July 9, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Thursday, July 10, 2014 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Friday, July 11, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Saturday, July 12, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday, July 13, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Wednesday, July 16, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Thursday, July 17, 2014 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Friday, July 18, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Saturday, July 19, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday, July 20, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Thursday, July 24, 2014 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Friday, July 25, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Saturday, July 26, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday, July 27, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Wednesday, July 30, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Thursday, July 31, 2014 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 1, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Saturday, Aug. 2, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday, Aug. 3, 2014 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Location: Maine College of Art, ICA, 522 Congress St, Portland, Maine

For more information: 207-775-3052; meca.edu

Open: Wednesday – Sunday 11:00am-5:00pm, Thursdays until 7:00pm

Rehearsal Space, at the Institute of Contemporary Art at Maine College of Art (ICA @ MECA), choreographer, writer, and performer Jack Ferver and visual artist Marc Swanson collaborate to create an original work that is both performance and art installation, coupling the formalism of Swanson’s art practice with the emotional intensity of Ferver’s choreography and text. Their piece, CHAMBRE, will use the controversial French playwright Jean Genet’s 1947 work LES BONNES (The Maids) as its inspiration. The work explores societal notions of difference in class, gender, and sexuality. Ferver and Swanson’s practices are especially suited to create an original response to the highly stylized depictions of ritualistic struggle between outcasts and their oppressors that run through Genet’s play. Ferver’s performances use high-energy, often violent choreography and exacting scripts that juxtapose hyperbolic prose with “hyper-real” dialogues to explore the tragicomedy of the human psyche. For one month the artists will be active within the ICA @ MECA’s galleries, thinking about and building on their piece within a gallery space that will be completely open to the public.

This post was contributed by a community member. Submit your news →

SEE COMMENTS →

ADVERTISEMENT | Grow your business
ADVERTISEMENT | Grow your business

Similar Articles

More in Education