From the community

Neighborhood Bird Walks 2012

Posted April 25, 2012, at 12:27 p.m.
Last modified April 25, 2012, at 2:21 p.m.

BANGOR, Maine – Join experienced birders on free walks in the Bangor Area from 7 to 8:30 a.m. throughout May.

Sponsored by the Penobscot Valley Chapter of Maine Audubon, Fields Pond Audubon Center, and Bangor Land Trust the schedule is as follows:

*Tuesday, May 1: Gould’s Landing on Pushaw Lake, Orono

Meet in Gould’s Landing parking lot at the end of Essex St.

*Friday, May 4: Bangor City Forest, Bangor

Meet at City Forest parking area at end of Kittredge Rd.

*Wednesday, May 9: Indian Trail and Penobscot County Conservation Assn.,               Brewer

Meet at Penobscot County Conservation Assn., North Main St.

*Friday, May 11: Falk Property, Carmel

Take I-95 to exit 174; right for 1 mi. on Rt. 69; right on Hinckley Hill Rd.; meet ¾ mi. on right.

*Saturday, May 12 (Int’l Migratory Bird Day): Fields Pond Audubon Center, Holden

Meet in Fields Pond Audubon Center parking lot.

*Monday, May 14: Northeast Penjajawoc Preserve, Bangor

Meet at BLT kiosk on Kittredge Rd. just before the power lines.

*Wednesday, May 16: Mt. Hope Cemetery, Bangor

Meet in the parking area inside the State St. entrance

*Thursday, May 17: Essex Woods, Bangor

Meet in the parking lot at the end of Watchmaker Rd.

*Friday, May 18: Kenduskeag Stream Trail, Bangor

Meet in the 2nd parking lot upstream of the intersection of Valley Ave. and Bruce Rd.

*Saturday, May 19: Walden Parke Preserve, Bangor

From Essex St., turn into Walden Parke Way, then right on Tamarack Trail to meet at its end.

*Monday, May 21: Leonard’s Mills, Bradley

Meet at the junction of Government Rd and Rt. 178

*Tuesday, May 22: University of Maine campus, Orono

Meet in the rear of the University Credit Union parking lot on Rangeley Rd.

*Wednesday, May 23: Saxl Park, Bangor

Meet in Cascade Park parking lot, just off State St.

*Thursday, May 24: West Penjajawoc Preserve, Bangor

Meet at the dead end of Fox Hollow Lane, off Essex St.

*Friday May 25: Technology Park, Orono

Meet in the parking lot behind the Microdyne Building on Godfrey Dr.

No dogs. Beginners welcome!

This post was contributed by a community member. Submit your news →

ADVERTISEMENT | Grow your business
ADVERTISEMENT | Grow your business

Similar Articles

More in Outdoors