From the community

Job Shadow Day 2014 slated Jan. 31 in Portland area

Posted Jan. 30, 2014, at 3:06 p.m.

PORTLAND, Maine – In an effort to encourage Maine students to strive for success, increase their knowledge of the business world, and gain a better understanding of jobs in the community, Junior Achievement of Maine will hold its Job Shadow Day 2014 9:30 a.m.-1 p.m. Friday, Jan. 31. Students in grades six-eight throughout Southern Maine will be matched with a host business to shadow for the day.

Job Shadow Day is part of a nationwide initiative that enables students to get an up-close look at the different career opportunities available to them when they are ready to enter the workforce. Job Shadow Day in the Bangor area will be taking place next week.

The following businesses are participating:

  • Acadia Environmental, 48 Free St., Portland

Contact: Tom Schwarm, 207-780-1230tschwarm@acadiaenvironmential.com

  • Bangor Savings Bank, 280 Fore St., Ste 200 Portland, ME

Contact: Teresa Thompson, 207-541-2724Teresa.Thompson@Bangor.com

  • Clark Insurance, 2385 Congress Street, Portland

Contact: Tony Payne, 207-774-6257Tpayne@clarkinsurance.com

  • Diversified Communications, 121 Free Street, Portland

Contact: Dana Maletzke, (207) 842-5450DMaletzke@Divcom.com

  • DiMillo’s On the Water, 25 Long Wharf Commercial St., Portland

Contact: Johnny DiMillo, 207-772-2216Johnny@DiMillos.com

  • Gorham Savings Bank, 10 Wentworth Drive, Gorham

Contact: Kevin Heatley, 207- 222-1414kheatley@gorhamsavingsbank.com

  • Gorham Savings Bank, 63 Marginal Way St. 200, Portland

Contact: Jade St. Pierre, 207.839.5209 x 8424jstpierre@gorhamsavingsbank.com

  • HealthSource Chiropractic & Rehab Wellness Center, 949 Brighton Avenue, Portland

Contact: Dr. Mitchell Vance, 780-1070, mvance@healthsourcechiro.com

  • Home Depot, 300 Clarks Pond Way, South Portland

Contact: Teresa Pennington, 207-879-2500 x077,TERESA_PENNINGTON@homedepot.com

  • IDEXX Laboratories, Inc., One IDEXX Drive, Westbrook, ME

Contact: Tammy Phillips, (207) 856-0367tammy-phillips@idexx.com

  • Kaplan University, 265 Western Avenue, South Portland

Contact: Bethany Tweed, 207-221-8704btweed@kaplan.edu

  • KeyBank, One Canal Plaza, Portland ME

Contact: Sherry Brown, 207-874-7230sherry_l_brown@keybank.com

  • Linscott Reality, 22 Cottage Road, South Portland

Contact: Brian K. Linscott, 207-767-3366, brian@linscottrealestate.com

  • Maine Credit Union League, 2 Ledgeview Drive, Westbrook, ME

Contact: Jon Paradise, 207-773-5671, JParadise@mainecul.org

  • MEMIC, 261 Commercial Street, Portland

Contact: Deb Sabatino, dsabatino@memic.com

  • Portland City Hall, 389 Congress Street Portland, ME                                    

Contact:  Sonia Bean, 207-874-8689, stb@portlandmaine.gov

  • Portland Public Library, 21 Elm Street, Portland                               

Contact: Linda Albert, 207-871-1700, albert@portland.lib.me.us

  • Portland Sea Dogs, 271 Park Avenue, Portland

Contact: Liz Riley, 207-874-9300, lriley@seadogs.com

  • Powerpay, LLC, 320 Cumberland Ave., Portland, ME

Contact: Linda Cannon, 207-228-6000 x 1137, lcannon@powerpay.biz

  • Sam’s Club, 440 Payne Rd, Scarborough, ME

Contact: Darren Applegate, (207) 883-5553dpapple.s08186.us@samsclub.com

  • SIGCO, Inc., 48 Spiller Drive, Westbrook

Contact: David Elhinny, 207-775-2676, dmcelhinny@sigcoinc.com

  • Sprague Energy Corporation, 92 Cassidy Point Drive, Portland

Contact: Dan Carrigan, 603-430-7242, dcarrigan@spragueenergy.com

  • Volk Packaging, 11 Morin Street, Biddeford

Contact: Derek Volk, 207-571-5511, dsvolk@volkboxes.com

  • Victoria Mansion, 109 Danforth Street, Portland

Contact: Lucinda Hannington, lhannington@victoriamansion.org

  • Walch Education, 40 Walsh Drive, Portland

Contact: Al Noyes, (207) 523-2534, anoyes@walch.com

  • WMTW-TV, 477 Congress St., Portland

Contact: Erick Druck, 207-523-4522, edruck@hearst.com

Job Shadow Day is designed to give students an opportunity to bridge classroom lessons with career exploration. JA’s main goal for this event is to encourage mentors to host a class at their place of work. Businesses take an active part in introducing Maine students to the business community and demonstrating how the skills learned in school are put into action. We are expecting more than 500 Maine students to participate.

Junior Achievement of Maine is a local non profit organization dedicated to educating students in grades K-12 about entrepreneurship, work readiness and financial literacy through experiential, hands-on programs. In partnership with businesses and educators, JA brings the real world to Maine students by preparing them for the world of work. JA is the world’s largest organization dedicated to inspiring and preparing young people to succeed in a global economy. To find out more about participating in area classrooms or providing a job shadowing experience at your business, contact Junior Achievement of Maine at 347-4333 or visit www.jamaine.org

This post was contributed by a community member. Submit your news →

ADVERTISEMENT | Grow your business
ADVERTISEMENT | Grow your business

Similar Articles

More in Business