From the community

Coming Home: A Book Group for Combat Veterans

Posted Aug. 11, 2014, at 12:29 p.m.

Wednesday, Sept. 10, 2014 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Sept. 17, 2014 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2014 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 1, 2014 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 8, 2014 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 15, 2014 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 22, 2014 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 29, 2014 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 5, 2014 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 12, 2014 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2014 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 26, 2014 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Dec. 3, 2014 6:30 p.m. to 2 a.m.

Location: Woodfords Congregational Church, 202 Woodford St, Portland, Maine

For more information: 207-773-5051; mainehumanities.org/programs/litandmed/index.html

Combat Veterans of all eras are invited to attend this weekly book group co-led by an Iraq and Afghanistan Veteran and a USM Professor of Classics.

The group will read a modern translation of The Odyssey, the timeless story of challenges faced by a Soldier returning home from the war. Sponsored in partnership with the Maine Humanities Council and the Portland Vet Center.

Registration required to attend.

To register, contact: Cliff Trott, 207-780-3584

This post was contributed by a community member. Submit your news →

SEE COMMENTS →

ADVERTISEMENT | Grow your business
ADVERTISEMENT | Grow your business

Similar Articles

More in Living