On May 30, 1923 16 veterans began marching to Fort Kent area cemeteries to honor fallen comrades. Shortly thereafter they gathered at the Henry W Nadeau store and signed the charter on June 25, 1923 of the Martin-Klein American Legion Post 133.
90 years later Legionnaires continue the service of honoring fallen comrades in area cemeteries in service to God and Country.
In celebration of their long history and service in the Fort Kent area they are opening their hall for a 90th Anniversary Historical Open House on June 30, 2013 from 11am-2pm.
The Fort Kent Historical Society will have WWI artifacts on display and the public is invited to enjoy hamburgers and hotdogs and explore the long standing history of service located within their community.
The event marks the beginning of a campaign to mark all veterans graves in the Fort Kent area with flag holders. Sample flag holders will be on hand and donations will be accepted towards the flag holder program.
For more information contact Duane Belanger, at (207)951-2874 or visit us on the web at www.americanlegionpost133.org
This post was contributed by a community member. Submit your news →