PORTLAND– The Maine Center for Entrepreneurs (MCE), along with its partners, the Gulf of Maine Research Institute, Lewiston/Auburn Metro Chamber and the University of Maine, are pleased to announce the winner of the Top Gun Showcase. The winner of the $25,000 cash prize was Erica Schmitz… Read More
    ORONO– Matthew Wallhead is the new University of Maine Cooperative Extension ornamental horticulture specialist and assistant professor of horticulture. Wallhead joins UMaine from the USDA Agricultural Research Service Application Technology Research Unit in Wooster, Ohio. His postdoctoral work there focused on improving spray efficiency for ornamental… Read More
    The upcoming Memorial Day holiday weekend is the unofficial start of summer. The American Red Cross wants everyone to have fun and offers 20 tips for doing that safely all summer long. “Summer is finally on the way and many of us will travel, grill delicious… Read More
    CAMDEN — Bright and early on May 21st, with Memorial Day weekend looming, a determined group of Camden Club members and spouses armed with rakes, clippers, brooms, blowers and edging tools descended on the town’s Village Green. Their mission was to spruce up the planting beds surrounding the… Read More
    GREENVILLE — The Moosehead Marine Museum recently received a $10,000 grant from the Piscataquis Fund of the Maine Community Foundation to implement educational activities. The centerpiece of MMM’s collection is the steamboat Katahdin, according to museum executive director Liz McKeil. It draws 7,500 visitors to the region… Read More
    BLUE HILL — The Bagaduce Music Lending Library announces that tickets are on sale for the 28th annual Blue Hill Pops Concert to be held at 7 p.m. Tuesday, July 3, at  George Stevens Academy gymnasium on Union Street in Blue Hill. A summer season tradition … Read More
    BPD Duck of Justice
    This is a reprint from something I first wrote in 2016. I changed a few things, but it probably didn’t make it any better. I don’t pontificate much about police officers. I avoid sharing my opinions on the slew of stories that… Read More
    DOVER-FOXCROFT — Piscataquis County Soil and Water Conservation District will host a Gravel Road Maintenance Workshop 9 a.m.-2:30 p.m. Friday, June 22, at Dover-Foxcroft Municipal Building, 48 Morton Ave. This workshop will have two components. In the mornin,g Bill Laflamme of Maine Department of Environmental Protection… Read More
    BANGOR — The Ohio Street Farmers’ Market opened for its eighth season on Wednesday afternoon, May 23, at Bangor Grange Hall, 1192 Ohio St. Known as “Bangor’s charming midweek market,” there are three vendors starting off the season: Rollin’s Orchards of Garland, In the Village Farm of Passadumkeag, and… Read More
    PORTLAND — Mercy has announced that Karyn Woelflein, MD has joined the Pain Center at Mercy Hospital — southern Maine’s only comprehensive, full spectrum pain management and rehabilitation clinic. “We are excited to welcome Dr. Woelflein to Mercy,” said Charlie Therrien, president of Mercy Hospital. “Dr. Read More