Antique and vintage motorcycles take center stage at the Owls Head Transportation Museum’s annual Vintage Motorcycle Meet and Antique Aeroplane Show on Saturday, August 31 and Sunday, September 1. Owners of pre-1993 motorcycles are encouraged to exhibit and will be admitted free of charge. A special, designated parking area for modern motorcycles will also be set up in the main parking area. The Vintage Motorcycle Meet attracts antique, custom and racing bikes from all over northern New England.
From Harleys and Triumphs to Hondas and BMWs, join us to show off your vintage motorcycle. Guests arriving on their pre-1993 motorcycles receive free admission to this show and all other Museum (non-auction) events.
For the first time visitors arriving on their late-model motorcycles will be invited to park on a designated portion of Runway 17 where they will have an opportunity to show off their bikes alongside the featured vintage bikes. These guests will be charged standard show admission of $12.
Featured guest motorcycles include a 1913 Excelsior, a rare 1909 Pierce Arrow and numerous stunning early motorcycles from the motorcycle world’s favorite international and domestic marques.
In addition to assorted vintage motorcycles of all kinds, an array of family activities will include demonstrations, dirt track racers, free Model T rides and (weather permitting) antique aeroplane demonstrations. Young children are encouraged to practice their driving skills in the Kids Corral area, which features pedal cars and pedal planes. Remember, we fly early, so try to get to the Museum in the morning to see our planes in action!
Owls Head Transportation Museum Aircraft Conservator Karl Erickson and a team of dedicated volunteers have been working to ready our collection of historic biplanes for flight; our 1930 Pitcairn PA-7S Sport Mailwing will take to the skies for the first time since the historic aircraft joined the collection in October. Additional planes that may take to the skies for demonstrations (weather permitting) include the Museum’s 1941 Stearman, our 1933 Waco, our 1916 Sopwith Pup and our beloved 1917 Fokker DR.I triplane (aka the Red Baron). Our open flightline provides an opportunity for visitors to see, hear and experience the planes close up and visit with our pilots.
Rain or shine, visitors will have access to the Museum’s indoor collection of dozens of antique cars, motorcycles and aeroplanes. Guests will also have an opportunity to view the Museum’s exhibition, MGs & Microcars, showcasing a unique collection of more than 25 MGs and small cars from the 1920s, ’30s and ’40s.
The Museum will showcase its collection of motorcycles, which includes an 1868 Roper Steam Velocipede, 1901 Steffey Motorbike, 1922 Royal Enfield, 1930 Henderson Streamline Motorcycle, 1931 Indian Four, 1932 Harley Davidson V Motorcycle, 1938 Indian Scout and 1946 Whizzer Motorbike.
Visitors are encouraged to come early to guarantee seeing the highest concentration of exhibiting vehicles.
The Museum Store will be open, showcasing a large inventory of books, diecast models, children’s items and more.
This two-day event is sponsored by French & Brawn Catering and Market Place, Corson’s Auto Supply, Journey’s End Marina and Boat Transport, Camden National Bank, TravelMAINE, Thomaston Place Auction Galleries, Maine Coast Welcome Center and The Norumbega.
Admission is $12 for adults and, as always, children under 18 are admitted to the Museum and show free of charge. Refreshments catered by French & Brawn Catering and Market Place will be available for purchase at the Caboose during both days of the show. No pets are allowed in the Museum or on show grounds.
Any visitor who renews their membership or purchases a new membership on the day of an event is entered in a drawing for a ride in the Museum’s 1941 Stearman Biplane. One winner is drawn at noon and one at 3:00 pm each day of the event.
Memberships purchased at the $500 Sustaining level include a ride for one adult in our 1941 Stearman biplane. Memberships purchased at the $1,000 Benfactor level or above include a ride for two adults in our 1933 Waco biplane.
The Owls Head Transportation Museum is located at 117 Museum Street in Owls Head, Maine, directly off of Route 73. The Museum is open seven days a week, year round. For more information please contact Owls Head Transportation Museum Public Relations Director Jenna Lookner at (207) 594-4418.