November 25, 2017
Community News Latest News | Poll Questions | Black Friday | Michael Flynn | Net Neutrality

UM grad Lionel Dubay wins national award

Community Author:
Post Date:
Lionel Dubay

AUGUSTA, Maine — Lionel J. Dubay, Assistant Vice President for the Business Services Division at the University of Florida, received the first IAVM Region 5 Distinguished Service Award at the recent Sport Entertainment and Venues Tomorrow Conference held at the University of South Carolina.

He joined IAAM in 1972 while actively involved in the construction process of the Augusta Civic Center (ME). He became Director of the Center shortly after the facility opened in 1973, a position he held until 1985 when he became Director of the Stephen C. O’Connell Center on the University of Florida campus in Gainesville, Florida.

In 2007, he left the O’Connell Center to become UF’s Director for the Business Services Division. In 2012, Dubay was appointed to Assistant Vice President and obtained oversight responsibility of the O’Connell Center.

Lionel Dubay served as Vice President of IAAM District V (1995-1997) and as the 75th President of IAAM. He has served as Chair of the Board of Governors, Universities Committee, Diversification Committee, and the Reorganization Task Force as well as on other numerous committees. He is an honorary member of IAVM and received the Charles A. McElravy Award in 2007.

Dubay is a champion of professional development, student scholarships and involvement within the industry. Many of his former student employees are actively involved in venue management.

He was one of the founding members of the Florida Facility Managers Association (FFMA) and served as President in 1991-1992 and again in 2005-2007; and is a life time member of the Association.

“Although there were many qualified candidates to consider for the IAVM Region 5 Distinguished Service Award, Lionel Dubay quickly rose to the top of the list for his many contributions to the association, but more specifically for his work for Region 5,” observed Region 5 Nominating Committee member Carol Moore, CFE.  “I cannot think of a more deserving recipient for this prestigious inaugural IAVM Region 5 Distinguished Service Award.”