January 21, 2018
Community News Latest News | Poll Questions | Bridgewater Arrest | Bangor Mall | Real ID

Two Aroostook County producers named to National Potato Promotion Board

Community Author:
Post Date:

WASHINGTON, D.C. —  Two Maine potato producers have been appointed by U.S. Department of Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack to the National Potato Promotion Board.
Brandon Berce of St. Agatha and Jay LaJoie of Van Buren are among the 38 newly appointed members of the board. According to the USDA, each representative will serve a three-year term of office beginning March 1.
“I’m pleased that two outstanding Maine producers have been named to this board, and I congratulate Brandon and Jay on their appointments. I know both will contribute to the National Potato Promotion Board’s important mission and represent the interests of the industry and our state very well,” said U.S. Rep. Mike Michaud in his announcement about the appointments.
According to the USDA, research and promotion programs are industry-funded, authorized by Congress and date back to 1966. Since then, Congress has authorized the establishment of 20 research and promotion boards. They empower agricultural industries by establishing a framework for them to pool resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets, and conduct important research and promotion activities.