January 18, 2019
Community News Latest News | Saffron | Jared Golden | Ice Disc | Today's Paper

Ten Maine Legislators win ‘Profiles in Courage’ Awards

Community Author: Randall Parr
Post Date:
randall parr | BDN
randall parr | BDN

John F. Kennedy’s Pulitzer Prize winning book “Profiles in Courage” tells the stories of eight U.S. Senators whose principled positions on controversial issues cost them their constituents’ popularity and colleagues’ esteem: John Quincy Adams, Daniel Webster, Thomas Hart Benton, Sam Houston, Edmund Ross, Lucius Lamar, George Norris, and Robert Taft.

A 2017 Maine Public Banking Profiles in Courage awards has been presented to Senator Troy Jackson. While most other Senators backed the 128th legislature Joint Insurance and Financial Services committee majority on the Senate floor, he was one of nine enlightened Senators voted for the proposed state-owned Maine Green Bank by voting “no” on the “not to pass” motion from the Joint Insurance and Financial Services committee.

Troy Jackson is Democratic Leader and State Senator for District 1, representing Northern Aroostook County. Despite misrepresentation of public banking by much of our financial establishment, he stood behind a State-owned Green Bank proposal that would economically benefit Maine people. Troy, left, is seen accepting the award from Randall Parr, right, in the Maine Capitol below after the Alliance for the Common Good Rally January 3, 2018.

Other 2017 Profiles in Courage recipients include Senators Shenna Bellows; Susan Deschambault; Rebecca Millet; David Miramant, Sponsor; Troy Jackson, Minority Leader; Nate Libby Assistant Minority Leader Mike Carpenter; James Dill and Representative Heidi Brooks, who moved the State-owned bank bill to the Senate floor by casting the only Joint Insurance and Financial Services committee dissenting vote to an “ought not pass” motion, despite misrepresentation by financial establishment witnesses at a public hearing in February 2017..