March 19, 2018
Community News Latest News | Poll Questions | Death Penalty | Austin Bombing | Andrew McCabe

Sen. Cain appointed to New England Board of Higher Education

Community Author:
Post Date:
Sen. Emily Cain

AUGUSTA, Maine — Senator Emily Cain (D-Orono) has been appointed by Senate President Justin Alfond to the New England Board of Higher Education (NEBHE). Cain was first appointed to NEBHE in 2005, and has been serving on the board continuously since then, appointed and reappointed by every presiding officer, Democrat or Republican. She is currently the Vice-Chair of NEBHE, and has previously served as chairwoman of the Maine delegation to NEBHE, and as the Legislative vice-chairwoman.

“I am proud to continue my service representing Maine on the New England Board of Higher Education,” said Sen. Cain. “NEBHE plays an important role in providing affordable access to college for Maine students, and a benefit to Maine’s public colleges and universities. Higher Education is an essential element of a strong economy, and NEBHE brings together the best ideas and practices in New England to grow our economy and educate the current and future generations.”

The New England Board of Higher Education promotes greater educational opportunities and services for the residents of New England. It was founded in 1955 by six New England governors, and subsequently approved by New England’s six state legislatures and authorized by the U.S. Congress. NEBHE works across the six New England states to:

  • Engage and assist leaders in the assessment, development, and implementation of sound education practices and policies of regional significance.
  • Promote policies, programs, and best practices to assist the states in implementing important regional higher education policies.
  • Promote regional cooperation and programs that encourage the efficient use and sharing of educational resources.
  • Provide leadership to strengthen the relationship between higher education and the economic well-being of New England.

Sen. Cain represents Senate District 30, which includes 21 communities in Penobscot County. She serves as Senate Chair of the Government Oversight Committee and is a member of the Appropriations Committee. She served four terms in the Maine House. This is her first term in the Maine Senate.