January 22, 2018
Community News Latest News | Poll Questions | 2018 Government Shutdown | Bangor Mall | Real ID

Maine Credit Union League names annual awards recipients

Community Author:
Post Date:

PORTLAND, Maine — The Maine Credit Union League recently honored six individuals as the recipients of the Maine CU Movement’s annual awards.  The recipients were recognized and presented with their awards at a special ceremony held in June in Portland in conjunction with the League’s 75th annual Meeting & Convention.

As part of the League’s 75th Anniversary, a number of past League board members and pioneers attended the Convention including Joseph Bouchard, former League Board Chair and a member of the Maine Credit Union League’s Founders’ Club, who founded the Awards Program in 1973.  Bouchard called it an honor that the Awards Program is “still going strong 40 years later.”  Nominees are submitted by credit unions, with the final winners determined by the League’s Awards & Convention Committee.

Here are the 2013 Maine Credit Union League Award Winners:

Alexander Ferguson Award for Outstanding Credit Union Volunteer went to Chanel Coulombe of Atlantic Regional FCU, with its main office in Brunswick and branches in Cumberland, Freeport and Topsham, who has been a volunteer with the credit union for nearly 30 years.  During his time on the credit union’s board, Coulombe, a resident of Brunswick, has served in a variety of positions including Chair and currently serves as Vice Chair.  Coulombe was honored for “being a tireless volunteer and ambassador for the credit union, donating between 25-30 hours per month helping in any way he can.”  In addition to his contributions to the credit union, Coulombe is also active in other community organizations including serving as a Eucharistic Minister and as a board member of a local assisted living facility.

James M. Gratto Award for Outstanding Credit Union Manager went to J. Hunter King, President/CEO of Trademark FCU, with offices in Augusta, Portland and Scarborough, who was honored for his more than three decades of involvement with credit unions including the past five at Trademark FCU.  Hunter, who lives in Poland, was praised for being a calm leader who is “willing to share his experiences to help his staff learn.”  During his tenure at the credit union, King has overseen the successful merger of Hannaford Associates FCU and Alliance of Maine FCU into Trademark FCU, introduced new products and services and renovated all branches.  King announced earlier this year that he will conclude his long credit union career at the end of the year when he retires.

Jeannette G. Morin Award for Outstanding Credit Union Employee went to  Tina Jamo, VP of Operations at Katahdin FCU of Millinocket and Island Falls, who was recognized for being the “go-to person at the credit union.” She was noted for holding virtually every position at the credit union since she began working there in 1986. Jamo is not only involved in a number of credit union affiliated organizations, both statewide and national, but is also active in her local community including serving as President of the Chamber of Commerce, President of the Rotary Club, and Head of the Fourth of July Parade in Millinocket.

League President’s Award for Outstanding League Volunteer went to David Rossignol, CCE, President/CEO of NorState FCU with locations in Madawaska, Ashland, Eagle Lake, Fort Kent, Presque Isle and Van Buren, who was recognized by Maine Credit Union League President John Murphy for “providing leadership on a wide range of issues important to credit unions and to the Maine Credit Union League including his leadership in raising funds for the Maine Credit Unions’ Campaign for Ending Hunger and facilitating a partnership between Maine’s credit unions and the World Acadian Congress, which will be held in Aroostook County in August 2014.”  Rossignol served on the Maine Credit Union League’s Board of Directors from 2006-2013, including as Board Chair from 2012-2013.  He retired at the end of June.
Diane L. Oceretko ‘People Helping People’ Award went to Joel Wegner, Quality Assurance Coordinator at Five County CU of Bath, with locations in Auburn, Augusta, Brunswick, Falmouth, Lewiston, Lisbon, North Windham, Portland, Rockland, Scarborough, Skowhegan, Waterville and Topsham, who made calls helping others and giving of your time and energy “something that makes for a great day.”  A 12-year employee of the credit union, Wegner is involved in a variety of organizations and projects including serving on the Meeting Basic Human Needs Community Impact Council for the United Way of Midcoast Maine; volunteering for the American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life; Special Olympics; and numerous other community-oriented activities.

Formed in 1938, the Maine Credit Union League is the State Trade Association for Maine’s 61 credit unions with nearly 630,000 members providing a variety of services and products to assist credit unions in meeting the needs of their membership.  For more information, visitwww.mainecul.org.