December 13, 2017
Community News Latest News | Poll Questions | Closings, Cancellations and Delays | Roy Moore | Susan Collins

Local Providers Receive National Recognition For Heart & Diabetes Care

Community Author:
Post Date:
Pen Bay Healthcare providers (L-R):Mark Eggena, MD, Archie Green, DO, Kirsten Staples, MD, Kristin Dobbins, FNP, Carrie Thackeray, MD, Kevin Davey, MD, Ted Mohlie, MD, Neal Yetman, DO, Aoife Redmond, MD, Robert Laurence, MD, Jeff Landfair, MD, Denise Anderson, DO, Robert Merrill, MD & Jennifer Guilfoyle, FNP.

Pen Bay Healthcare is pleased to announce that fourteen Pen Bay Primary Care providers recently received national recognition from the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) for excellence in Diabetes care, as well as Heart/Stroke care.

The Diabetes Recognition Program (DRP) was designed to acknowledge clinicians who use evidence-based measures and provide excellent care to patients with diabetes. To receive recognition, which is valid for three years, the eligible clinicians submitted data that met the Program’s key diabetes care measures including blood pressure, cholesterol and hemoglobin (HbA1c) controls and eye examinations, among others. When people with diabetes receive quality care as outlined by these measures, they are less likely to suffer complications such as heart attacks, stroke, blindness, kidney disease and amputations. An estimated 20 million Americans over 20 have diabetes; it is the seventh-leading cause of death by disease in the U.S. and it has no cure.

The Pen Bay clinicians who are recipients of the Diabetes Recognition Program (DRP) include:

1. Denise Anderson, DO
2. Kevin Davey, MD
3. Kristin Dobbins, FNP
4. Mark Eggena, MD
5. Jennifer Guilfoyle, FNP
6. Jeff Landfair, MD
7. Robert Laurence, MD
8. Robert Merrill, MD
9. Ted Mohlie, MD
10. Aoife Redmond, MD
11. Kirsten Staples, MD
12. Carrie Thackeray, MD
13. Neal Yetman, DO

In addition, Pen Bay clinicians recognized under the Heart/Stroke Recognition Program (HSRP) for demonstrating that they provide high-quality care to patients with cardiac conditions or who have had a stroke include:

1. Denise Anderson, DO
2. Kevin Davey, MD
3. Mark Eggena, MD
4. Archie Green, DO
5. Jeff Landfair, MD
6. Robert Laurence, MD
7. Robert Merrill, MD
8. Ted Mohlie, MD
9. Aoife Redmond, MD
10. Carrie Thackeray, MD
11. Neal Yetman, DO

“NCQA’s Diabetes Recognition and Heart Stroke Program honors the vanguard, professionals using the best science to help patients cope with one of modern life’s most pervasive illnesses,” said NCQA President Margaret E. O’Kane. “I commend Pen Bay Healthcare’s providers for ensuring high quality care and for going the extra mile to help people with diabetes and heart stroke disease.”

To find out if your clinician has been recognized by the Diabetes Recognition Program or Heart Stroke Program or for further information, please visit