February 22, 2018
Community News Latest News | Poll Questions | Tourney Time 2018 | Bump Stocks | Winter Olympics

Leading by example at Hermon High

Community Author:
Post Date:

Hermon High School Faculty participated  in a new JROTC uniform (pictured) initiative this past week to show support for their growing JROTC program.  The Hermon “Hawk” Battalion is rapidly growing in popularity among students entering Hermon High.  The Battalion recently designed a new logo and spent fundraising money to purchase t-shirts for the program.  The logo is printed on the back of the shirts (displayed in center of photo).  Faculty and cadets first started wearing the new shirts this week, and volunteer faculty members were excited and honored to also have the opportunity to wear the camouflage pants and boots.  The event definitely heightened school spirit throughout the day and carried into the evenings’ Military Appreciation Day during the Hermon boys’ final home basketball game.  Faculty members plan to wear the uniform monthly throughout the school year as a unified effort to support cadets and raise school spirit.  Army JROTC is a high school elective course offered to all students focusing on leadership, citizenship, and patriotism providing cadets excellent life skills that they may not necessarily receive through typical high school coursework.  The program is values-based and mirrors the Army’s seven LDRSHIP values of loyalty, duty, respect, selfless service, honor, integrity, and personal courage.  Pictured from left to right are (standing) retired Major Marcel Fortier – Senior Army Instructor, Justin Perry, retired Major Steven Vose, Shawn Good, Megan McCrum, Mike Blake, Marcy Soucy, Jesse St Jean, Arrah Vanier, Christopher Healy, Venise Treadwell, Chad Boucher, Elisabeth Pound, Jesse Hargrove, Shelley Gavett, David Yeo, Jennifer Tabor, Lauren Driscoll, Ginger Burger, retired First Sergeant Rob Jenkins – Assistant Army Instructor, (kneeling from left) Kara Schwartz, Amy Luce, Mallory McPartland, Sarah Young, Anna Anthony, Nicole Griffin, and Stephanie Biberstein.