August 19, 2019
Community News Latest News | Chellie Pingree | Bangor Metro | Paupers' Grave | Today's Paper

Golf tournament to benefit GSA annual fund sees record participation

Community Author: Mark Messer
Post Date:
Mark Messer | BDN
Mark Messer | BDN
Tom Gray of Community Pharmacy of Blue Hill, second from right, stands with the morning champions of the Duane B. Gray ’64 Memorial Golf Tournament. The foursome, from left, John Bannister, Ron Allen ’58, Mark Leonardi and Adam Gray ’94, earned a low gross score of 50 in the event, which raises money for the George Stevens Academy Annual Fund.

BLUE HILL — Eighty-eight GSA alumni, students, parents, faculty, and friends took part in the sixth annual Duane B. Gray ’64 Memorial Golf Tournament at the Blue Hill Country Club on Saturday, Sept 8.

The tournament honors George Stevens Academy alumnus Duane B. Gray ’64, who was an avid golfer and pharmacist at Community Pharmacy of Blue Hill, lead sponsor of the event, before he passed away in 2012. Duane Gray’s nephew Tom Gray represented Community Pharmacy at the tournament, which raised money for the GSA Annual Fund to provide essential support for all areas of school life, including academic programs, arts, athletics, and upkeep of buildings and grounds.

A volunteer committee led by GSA golf coach and club manager Dwayne Carter ’80 and GSA

Trustee and Development Committee Chair Phyllis Taylor organized the tournament, which was

supported by hole sponsorships and other contributions from over 60 local businesses, including

hole-in-one sponsors Darling’s and Stanley Scooters.

Morning Results

Champions: Adam Gray ’94, John Bannister, Ron Allen ’58, Mark Leonardi.

First low net: Rob Clapp ’73, Mark Clapp ’03, Homer Lowell ’73, Josh Gott ’03.

Second low net: John diPretoro, Frank Hull, Rick Ferretti, Adam Palmer.

Third low net: Chris Pickering ’97, Erik Fitch ’99, Ryan Welch, Russ Flewelling.

Individual morning winners (women, men) for closest to the pin on No. 5 were Libby Rosemeier ’77 and Josh Gott ’03. Closest to the pin on No. 3 were Kitty Clements and Mark Rosenthal. Longest drives on No. 7 were by Jodelle Austin ’83 and Dan Walker ’87.

Afternoon Results

Champions: Percy Zentz ’19, Finn Russet ’19, Ebb Walton ’08, Alex Drenga.

First low net: Tom Morris, Mike Rioux ’78, Jil Blake, Christine Russell.

Second low net: Paul Raspante, Laura Pellerano, Michael Miller, Doug Wellington.

Third low net: Phyllis Taylor, Will Taylor, Bebe Moulton, Terry Moulton.

Individual afternoon winners (women, men) for closest to the pin on No. 5 were Christine Russell and Larry Flood. Closest to the pin on No. 3 was Larry Gray. Longest drives on No. 7 were by Bebe Moulton and Ebb Walton ’08.

To view a gallery of photos of the tournament, visit