January 24, 2018
Community News Latest News | Poll Questions | Jackman Town Manager | Russia Investigation | Government Shutdown

Dr. Norm Dinerman receives national honor from EMS Association

Community Author:
Post Date:
Ritu Sahni, MD, MPH, president of the National Association of EMS Physicians, (left) and Dr. Norm Dinerman (right).

BANGOR, Maine — Norm Dinerman, MD, EMMC’s iconic emergency physician responsible for bringing LifeFlight to Maine, was recognized this week for his tireless work to improve pre-hospital care over many years.

At its annual meeting held Jan. 16-18, the National Association of EMS Physicians recognized Dr. Dinerman with the Ronald D. Stewart Award, the most significant honor among EMS physicians, akin to a lifetime achievement award. The award is given out annually to a person who has made a lasting, major contribution to the EMS community in the United States and Canada.

“It remains an honor to have witnessed and participated in the arc of evolution of EMS as it becomes an acknowledged sub-specialty of emergency medicine in this very year,” explains Dr. Dinerman, in an Eastern Maine Medical Center press release. “To the extent that I have been accorded the opportunity to contribute in some small measure to its growth and maturation is a blessing. I am humbled by this affirmation by my colleagues that my professional journey remains contributory, and is of purpose.”

Responses from the EMS community in Bangor and across the state are in resounding harmony and mirror the comments of EMMC CEO Deborah Carey Johnson, RN: “The rest of the world has recognized what we already know. Norm Dinerman is a treasure and we are lucky to have him here. We are grateful for his many contributions to EMMC, to EMS and the emergency medical care across the state and our country.”

Dr. Dinerman serves many roles at Eastern Maine Medical Center, including emergency medicine physician, medical director of EMMC’s Transfer Center, and medical director of LifeFlight of Maine. Dr. Dinerman’s career at EMMC has spanned more than 25 years. This is not his first national recognition. In 2012 he was named the Air Medical Physician Association’s Medical Director of the Year.

The National Association of EMS Physicians recognized Dr. Dinerman for his work at EMMC, LifeFlight, Maine EMS, and Denver General Hospital, along with his role as a founder of NAEMSP and the National EMS Medical Directors Course.

The Ronald D. Stewart Award was named for Dr. Ronald Stewart, a Canadian physician who was the founder of modern EMS in the United States