January 22, 2018
Community News Latest News | Poll Questions | 2018 Government Shutdown | Tom Kawczynski | The Patriots

Bank of Maine Scholars Program awards scholarships

Community Author:
Post Date:

PORTLAND, Maine — The Bank of Maine Charitable Foundation recently awarded 24 high school seniors a total of $24,000 in college scholarships under The Bank of Maine Scholars program. This program provides $1,000 to selected high school seniors to be used toward the cost of attending college.

Since 1985, The Bank of Maine Charitable Foundation has awarded more than $367,000 in scholarships to 428 of Maine’s graduating high school seniors.

“These students represent the future leaders of our community. We are delighted to recognize their achievements,” said John W. Everets, Chairman of The Bank of Maine Charitable Foundation, in a press release. “Providing opportunities for young people to further their education is an investment that benefits families and communities and helps build a stronger economic foundation for the future. We are proud to have assisted over 400 students in receiving a college education through The Bank of Maine Scholars program and look forward to seeing all that they will accomplish.”

The scholarships recognize academically successful students with a financial need who have displayed outstanding character through volunteer community service. The scholarship competition is open to high school seniors in all of the communities which the bank serves.

Winners and their high schools are:

• Jessica Murphy, Boothbay Regional Area High School

• George Rowe, Brunswick High School

• Matthew Bridges, Calais High School

• Faith Emery, Cony High School

• Jeffrey Pass, Erskine Academy

• Alyse Bazinet, Falmouth High School

• Emalee Couture, Gardiner Area High School

• Kristin Cosgrove, Gardiner Area High School

• Galen Lichterfeld, Good Will-Hinckley

• Erin Ballew, Hall-Dale High School

• Alexander Vesenka, Kennebunk High School

• Michael McCormick, Lincoln Academy

• Lorena Mattox, Machias Memorial High School

• Jason Stevenson, Maranacook High School

• Jacob Smith, Messalonskee High School

• Kyle Hummel, Morse High School

• Kristen Pierce, Mt. Ararat High School

• Katie Shambaugh, Portland High School

• Megan Barto, Richmond High School

• Devin McGrath Conwell, Thornton Academy

• Ben Wehry, Waterville High School

• Maureen Tierney, Winthrop High School

• Nathan Howard, Wiscasset High School

• Amber Freeman, York High School

The Bank of Maine and The Bank of Maine Charitable Foundation recognize the hard work it takes to achieve a high school diploma and wish each Maine graduate success in his or her future endeavors.

The Bank of Maine Scholars college scholarship program was established by The Bank of Maine Charitable Foundation in 1985 to benefit Maine high school students who are pursuing higher education. The Bank of Maine was founded in 1834. It is a 178 year old FDIC-insured, federally chartered savings bank with more than $790 million in assets. The bank offers a broad range of personal and business financial services through its 24 branches and 31 ATM sites. In addition to serving the needs of its customers, the bank and its charitable foundation have returned over $25 million to Maine communities through contributions and grants. To learn more, visit www.thebankofmaine.com or on Facebook and Twitter.