December 18, 2017
Community News Latest News | Poll Questions | Long Creek | Tax Reform | Opioid Epidemic

7 Inducted Into the National Honor Society at SDHS

Community Author:
Post Date:
Front row, 7 new NHS inductees (l-r): Connor Fraser, Meagan McKeon, Logan Staples, Gabe Libby, Ari Jihan, Briana Grant, Brittany Ward Back row, current NHS members (l-r): Emily Evans, Arianna Tang, Alyssa Burkard, Alivia Cross, Jay Burkard, Alicen Brooks, Allison Walker (Photo by Nancy Rimm Staples)

SEARSPORT, Maine – Seven new members were inducted into the National Honor Society on February 4, 2014 at Searsport District High School. Students are selected for the prestigious organization based on their demonstration of excellence in scholarship, leadership, service and character.

AMICA, Searsport District High School’s NHS Chapter, celebrated its 50th anniversary last year. Newly inducted members from Searsport are Connor Fraser, Ari Jihan, Gabe Libby, Meagan McKeon and Brittany Ward. Newly inducted members from Stockton Springs are Briana Grant and Logan Staples.

A candlelight ceremony was conducted by current members. Arianna Tang welcomed the audience to the induction ceremony, citing the honor to the new inductees as “a great way for the school and community to recognize and celebrate the choices that you‘ve made.“ She continued, “Your induction into the National Honor Society is not only a reward, but a challenge to work toward greater goals.” Next, members detailed the meaning and importance of the four characteristics, which have been associated with the organization since its beginning over 90 years ago: Jay Burkard elaborated on scholarship, Allison Walker on service, Alivia Cross on leadership and Alyssa Burkard on character.

Each inductee was then called on-stage, one at a time, as a current member talked about the inductee’s distinguished qualities that led to their being selected for the NHS. Each new member was given a blue and white carnation and a candle to light. A membership certificate and card were presented by the NHS Chapter Advisor, Martha Stamp.

In conclusion of the induction ceremony, members repeated a pledge led by Emily Evans to continue to uphold the high standards that brought them into the organization. A reception followed the ceremony.

From the NHS website,, “Established in 1921, the National Honor Society is the oldest and most respected student recognition organization in the United States.”