Articles by DRA

 
Community
Mallet Brothers Band

Midcoast Music Fest – The Mallett Brothers Band and Dave Mallet

By DRA on May 22, 2015, at 3:09 p.m.
Thursday, July 23, 2015 6:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. Location: Darrows Barn, DRA Round Top Farm, 3 Round Top Lane, Damariscotta, Maine For more information: 207-563-1393; midcoastmusicfest.com The Mallett Brothers Band (fronted by David’s talented sons Luke & Will) is a band from Maine that plays original music. With a …
Community

Midcoast Music Fest – Steam Reggae, Primo Cubano and Heather Hardy

By DRA on May 22, 2015, at 2:57 p.m.
Saturday, July 18, 2015 6:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. Location: Darrows Barn, DRA Round Top Farm, 3 Round Top Lane, Damariscotta, Maine For more information: 207-563-1393; midcoastmusicfest.com Stream Reggae is Maine’s premier reggae band offering music from the heart and soul of the Caribbean. Enjoy the deep roots reggae, soca, …
Community

Midcoast Music Fest – Ghost of Paul Revere and Anna Lombard

By DRA on May 12, 2015, at 5:04 p.m.
Thursday, July 16, 2015 6:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. Location: Darrows Barn at DRA’s Round Top Farm , 3 Round Top Lane, Damariscotta, Maine For more information: 207-563-1393; midcoastmusicfest.com Born of the waters of the Saco River, brothers in all but name, the Ghost of Paul Revere is Maine’s holler-folk …
Community

Camp Mummichug Summer Program

By DRA on April 14, 2015, at 3:54 p.m.
Monday, Aug. 17, 2015 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.Tuesday, Aug. 18, 2015 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.Wednesday, Aug. 19, 2015 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.Thursday, Aug. 20, 2015 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.Friday, Aug. 21, 2015 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Location: Damariscotta River Association, 110 Belvedere Road, Damariscotta, Maine …
Community

Camp Mummichug Summer Program

By DRA on April 14, 2015, at 3:26 p.m.
Monday, Aug. 10, 2015 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2015 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.Wednesday, Aug. 12, 2015 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.Thursday, Aug. 13, 2015 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.Friday, Aug. 14, 2015 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Location: Damariscotta River Association, 110 Belvedere Road, Damariscotta, Maine …
Community

Camp Mummichug Summer Program

By DRA on April 14, 2015, at 3:13 p.m.
Monday, July 20, 2015 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.Tuesday, July 21, 2015 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.Wednesday, July 22, 2015 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.Thursday, July 23, 2015 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.Friday, July 24, 2015 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Location: Damariscotta River Association, 110 Belvedere Road, Damariscotta, Maine …
Community

Camp Mummichug Summer Program

By DRA on April 14, 2015, at 3:06 p.m.
Monday, July 13, 2015 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.Tuesday, July 14, 2015 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.Wednesday, July 15, 2015 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.Thursday, July 16, 2015 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.Friday, July 17, 2015 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Location: Damariscotta River Association, 110 Belvedere Road, Damariscotta, Maine …
Community

Camp Mummichug Summer Program

By DRA on April 14, 2015, at 2:47 p.m.
Monday, July 6, 2015 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.Tuesday, July 7, 2015 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.Wednesday, July 8, 2015 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.Thursday, July 9, 2015 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.Friday, July 10, 2015 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Location: Damariscotta River Association, 110 Belvedere Road, Damariscotta, Maine …
Community

Camp Mummichug Summer Programs

By DRA on April 14, 2015, at 2:28 p.m.
SEA SQUIRTS (for ages 5 – 8) Nature exploration with a special focus on marine life. Create a nature journal; go out on a lobster boat; catch salt marsh critters; study bird nesting behavior and explore the rocky shores of Great Salt Bay Farm. Cost: $125 non-members, $110 DRA members. …
Community

Jr. Naturalist After-School Program

By DRA on March 24, 2015, at 5:02 p.m.
Tuesday, May 5, 2015 3 p.m. to 5 p.m.Thursday, May 7, 2015 3 p.m. to 5 p.m.Tuesday, May 12, 2015 3 p.m. to 5 p.m.Thursday, May 14, 2015 3 p.m. to 5 p.m.Tuesday, May 19, 2015 3 p.m. to 5 p.m.Thursday, May 21, 2015 3 p.m. to 5 p.m.Tuesday, May …
Community

E.A.r.t.H. (Ecology for Advanced Homeschoolers)

By DRA on March 24, 2015, at 4:49 p.m.
Tuesday, April 14, 2015 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. Location: Damariscotta River Association, 110 Belvedere Road, Damariscotta, Maine For more information: 207-563-1393; damariscottariver.org Program for homeschooled youth ages nine and up, with a serious interest in natural history and related topics. Regular homework is assigned. Course meets once a month …
Community

Wild Encounters Homeschool Program

By DRA on March 24, 2015, at 4:26 p.m.
Monday, April 13, 2015 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.Monday, May 18, 2015 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.Monday, June 15, 2015 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. Location: Damariscotta River Association, 110 Belvedere Road, Damariscotta, Maine For more information: 207-563-1393; damariscottariver.org April 13 – Marsh Mucking: Visit the fresh water marsh and …
Community

Bird Hikes in May

By DRA on March 24, 2015, at 4:02 p.m.
Saturday, May 2, 2015 7 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.Saturday, May 9, 2015 7 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.Saturday, May 16, 2015 7 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.Saturday, May 23, 2015 7 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.Saturday, May 30, 2015 7 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. Location: Damariscotta River Association, 110 Belvedere Road, Damariscotta, Maine …
Community

Frog Walk

By DRA on March 24, 2015, at 3:55 p.m.
Saturday, May 2, 2015 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. Location: Damariscotta River Association, 110 Belvedere Road, Damariscotta, Maine For more information: 207-563-1393; damariscottariver.org “Love is in the air.” Hear some of the region’s tuneful amphibians sing their mating songs. Naturalists will provide a brief lesson on frog call identification and …
Community

Coyote Biology with Wildlife Biologist

By DRA on March 24, 2015, at 3:35 p.m.
Wednesday, April 29, 2015 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m. Location: Damariscotta River Association, 110 Belvedere Road, Damariscotta, Maine For more information: 207-563-1393; damariscottariver.org Coyotes are all around us but they are elusive and myths about them abound. Biologist Geri Vilstein has studied coyotes closely and she will share this predator’s …
Community

Woodcock Watch

By DRA on March 24, 2015, at 3:27 p.m.
Friday, April 10, 2015 7 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. Location: Damariscotta River Association, 110 Belvedere Road, Damariscotta, Maine For more information: 207-563-1393; damariscottariver.org The setting sun will illuminate the “sky dance” spring courtship ritual of these unusual-looking, seldom-seen birds. To enjoy the display, bring binoculars and a lightweight folding chair, …
Community

Midcoast Stewards Program

By DRA on March 24, 2015, at 3:16 p.m.
Tuesday, April 14, 2015 5:30 p.m. to 8 p.m. Location: Damariscotta River Association, 110 Belvedere Road, Damariscotta, Maine For more information: 207-563-1393; damariscottariver.org Fostering citizen stewardship of Maine’s coastal resources. A 40 hour natural and cultural history course taught by local experts. Participants contribute a minimum of 40 hours of …
Community

Naturalist Guided Hike at Dodge Point

By DRA on March 24, 2015, at 2:36 p.m.
Saturday, May 2, 2015 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. Location: Damariscotta River Association, 110 Belvedere Road, Damariscotta, Maine For more information: 207-563-1393; damariscottariver.org Join naturalist and DRA Education Director Sarah Gladu for a gentle hike with frequent stops for learning about natural history and woodland plants at Dodge Point (River …
Community

Naturalist Guided Hike at Seal Cove Shore Preserve

By DRA on March 24, 2015, at 12:34 p.m.
Saturday, April 4, 2015 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. Location: Damariscotta River Association, 110 Belvedere Road, Damariscotta, Maine For more information: 207-563-1393; damariscottariver.org Join naturalist and DRA Education Director Sarah Gladu for a gentle hike with frequent stops for natural history learning at Seal Cove Shore Preserve (S Road, South …
Community

April Vacation All-About-Animals Day Camp

By DRA on March 24, 2015, at 11:42 a.m.
Monday, April 20, 2015 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.Tuesday, April 21, 2015 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.Wednesday, April 22, 2015 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.Thursday, April 23, 2015 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.Friday, April 24, 2015 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Location: Damariscotta River Association, 110 Belvedere Road, Damariscotta, Maine …