June 22, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Border Patrol | Pride | Maple Syrup

American Legion state champion Bangor leads Zone 1 postseason honors

By Ernie Clark, BDN Staff

BANGOR, Maine — Bangor’s American Legion baseball team had its best season in 35 years this summer, and on Tuesday night the Comrades were rewarded for their work within the state’s Zone 1 ranks.

Pitcher-outfielder Justin Courtney shared player of the year honors and teammate Trevor DeLaite was named pitcher of the year while Comrades skipper Dave Morris was selected as the Zone 1 coach of the year by his peers.

Overall, eight players earned first-team status from a Bangor team that won its first Legion state title since 1979 and finished among the final four teams at the Northeast Regional championships.

Three other Bangor players earned second-team All-Zone 1 accord.

Courtney went 6-2 on the mound with 71 strikeouts and a 1.29 earned run average in 52.1 innings for Bangor. He also batted .359 with two home runs and 23 RBIs while sharing Zone 1 player of the year honors with Brewer’s Kyle Alexander.

Alexander led Brewer to the Zone 1 tournament championship with a 6-0 pitching record and 49 strikeouts and a 1.09 ERA over 45 innings. He also batted .400 with 24 hits and 13 RBIs.

DeLaite earned the zone’s top pitching honor by compiling a 6-0 record and 63 strikeouts and an 0.68 ERA in 52.1 innings.

Morris, named the zone’s co-coach of the year in 2013, earned the honor this summer after guiding Bangor to a 16-2 regular-season record good for first place in the zone.

The Comrades then used a second-place finish in the zone playoffs to qualify for the state tournament, where they were the last remaining undefeated team before rallying from a loss to Bessey Motors of South Paris in the first game of the championship round to win their first state title in 35 years.

Bangor then went on to finish 2-2 at the Northeast Regional, losing only to regional champion RCP (Rocky Hill-Cromwell-Portland), Connecticut, and runnerup Milford, Massachusetts, to finish the summer with a 25-7 record.

Other Bangor players earning first-team All-Zone 1 honors were pitcher Andrew Hillier, catcher Hunter Boyce, second baseman Sam Huston, shortstop Kyle Stevenson, outfielder Ryan Gagne and utility player Ben Crichton.

Earning second-team status for the Comrades were pitchers Jordan Treadwell and Peter Kemble and outfielder Ryan Brookings.

Other first-team selections were first baseman Brendan Moore and outfielder Jeff Weeks of Brewer, pitcher Tom Burns and utility player Jackson Coutts of Motor City of Bangor, third baseman Jordan Morrow of Penquis of Dover-Foxcroft, pitcher Gage Feeney of Trenton and outfielder Mike Turner of Hampden.

Also earning berths on the second team were pitcher Galen Williamson, catcher Carter DeRedin, second baseman Chase Allen, third baseman Matt Pushard, shortstop Logan Rogerson and outfielder Greg Warmuth, all of Brewer; pitcher Kaleb Smith, shortstop Ryan Rebar and outfielder Brandon Spratt, all of Penquis; first baseman Tyler Neville of Motor City and utility players Matt Palmer of Hampden and Jon Phelps of Trenton.


Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like