June 21, 2018
Auto Racing Latest News | Poll Questions | Pride | Janet Mills | Urban Farming Ban

Bowie holds on to capture his first Wiscasset Speedway victory


WISCASSET, Maine — Polesitter Chris Bowie of New Gloucester held off the pack to capture the 45-lap Late Model Sportsman feature Saturday night at Wiscasset Speedway.

It was Bowie’s first win at Wiscasset Speedway and it was also the first race he had won in 10 years after a racing hiatus. Bowie was also the seventh different winner in seven Late Model Sportsman Division races at Wiscasset.

On the opening lap, Josh St Clair passed Bowie on the outside of turn two, but Bowie fought back and passed him to reclaim the lead on lap two.

Nick Hinkley then passed St Clair during lap three and Dresden’s Allen Moeller moved into third during lap four when St Clair went loose on the track.

Starting back in 11th place was Josh Sinclair’s younger brother Ryan St Clair. By lap eight, he had progressed into the top five. On lap 13, he pulled up to pass Moeller on the outside of turn two for third.

During the last 10 laps, two minor cautions were called. However, Bowie was able to successfully hold on. Hinkley placed second, Ryan St Clair took third, Moeller finished fourth and Dave St. Clair of Liberty was fifth.

Other Wiscasset results

Strictly Street: 1. Corey Morgan, Lewiston; 2. Dan Brown, Peru; 3. Jairet Harrison, Freeport; 4. Tasha Dyer, Freedom; 5. Mac Hannon Jr, Union; Mini Trucks: 1. Matt Weil, Biddeford; 2. Jerry McKenna, Milton; 3. Matt Curtis, Freeport; 4. Herbert Farrar, Mechanic Falls; 5. Larry Marshall, Dresden; New England Four Cylinder Pro Stock: 1. Ryan Hayes, Jefferson; 2. Jeff Prindall, Lisbon Falls; 3. Kamren Knowles, West Gardiner; 4. Robert Patten, Westbrook; 5. Jerry Bailey, Wiscasset; Thunder 4’s: 1. Ryan Chadwick, Wiscasset; 2. Trey Brown, Winterport; 3. Cody Tribbet, Richmond; 4. Leandra Martin, Richmond; 5. Kyle Dorey, Bowdoinham

Winterport Dragway Results

Super Pro Eliminator: 1. Randy Therrien, Unity; 2. Russ Poland, Wilton; Semifinalist, Bob Cousins, Brewer; Pro Eliminator: 1. Dwight Overlock, Owls Head; 2. Jon Canty, W. Gardiner;

Semifinalist, Luc Beaulieu, Winslow; Street Eliminator: 1. Brad Creamer, Bath; 2. Nick Poland, Lewiston; Semifinalist, Randy Herrick, Stockton Springs; Semifinalist, Al Graffam, Standish; Bikes and Sleds: 1. Paul Keaten II, Athens; 2. James Colman, Saco; Semifinalist, Tyler Wilkerson, Windham; Jr. Dragster Race: 1. Danielle Fusco, Turner; 2. Johnathan Condon, Chelsea; Street Trophy Race: 1. Raymond Campbell, Winslow; Teen Race: 1. Tiana Foley, Winterport; Darlings Ford Gambler Race: 1. Jamie Watson, Gouldsboro; 2. Paul Henckel, Old Orchard Beach; Semifinalist, Bob Cousins, Brewer; Diesel Day Race: 1. Issac Allen, Windham;

2. Fred Parsons, Winterport; Semifinalist, Reggie Lacadie, Milford

Spud Speedway

(At Caribou) Northern Lights: 1. Wayne Fox of Caribou; 2. Matt Lloyd of New Denmark, NB; 3. Dell Brissette of Caribou; Aroostook Savings and Loan Street Stocks: 1. Jon Dixon of Presque Isle; 2. Bobby Anderson of Limestone; 3. JR Howlett of Mapleton; Haney’s Building Specialties Fast Fours: 1. Nate Haney of Caribou; 2. Matt Lloyd of New Denmark, NB; 3. Kaydie Craig of Ashland; Coca Cola Outlaw Sportsman: 1. Connor Thibeau of Fort Fairfield;

2. Glenn Rasmussen of New Denmark, NB; 3. Robert Tomlinson of Athurette, NB; Kids Karts:

1. Gage Theriault of Limestone; 2. Issac Rossignol of New Denmark; Jr. Champ Karts: 1. Damian Theriault of Caribou; 2. Bryan Searles of Presque Isle; Sr. Champ Karts: 1. Tom Hale of Westmanland; 2. Tyler Raymond of Caribou;

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like