June 18, 2018
Auto Racing Latest News | Poll Questions | Susan Collins | Tiny House Surprise | Stephen King

Kimball holds off Audet for Wiscasset Speedway victory


WISCASSET, Maine — A twenty-five lap Outlaw Mini Feature was quick and exciting with Shawn Kimball of Augusta holding off Zach Audet of Skowhegan for a victory at Wiscasset Speedway Saturday night.

This division has seen six different feature winners in six different races.

Audet made several attempts to pass Kimball throughout the race. However, Kimball held him off, winning by just 1.7 seconds.

“There was just one caution at the beginning of the race. I kept the lead. The car was handling great,” Kimball said. “We replaced a cylinder head and the car is running much better. The issues we have seen with the car seem to be resolved.”

Jimmy Childs of Leeds placed third, followed by Nate Tribbet of Richmond, and George Fortin of Greene.

Kimball started on the pole. Behind him were Audet and Calvin Rose Jr.

Rose was holding back the pack, but during lap 14 Childs managed to pass Rose for third. However, Childs’ car got loose and Rose took the opportunity to reclaim third.

Rose then suffered mechanical issues during lap 17, and headed to the pits. Childs took back third.

Other Wiscasset results

Amsoil Nelcar Legends: 1. Mathew Bourgoine, Newport; 2. Bob Weymouth, Topsham; 3. Wyatt Alexander, Ellsworth; 4. Tylar Braunschweig, West Newfield; 5. Matt Grant, Windham; Pro Stock: 1. Dylan Turner, Freedom; 2. Scott Chubbuck, Bowdoin; 3. Bill Penfold, Oxford;

4. Mike Orr, Wiscasset; 5. Adam Chadbourne, Woolwich; New England Four-Cylinder Pro Stocks: 1. Ryan Hayes, Jefferson; 2. Dave Patten, Westbrook; 3. Kamren Knowles, West Gardiner; 4. Craig Dunn, Strong; 5. Bob Patten, Westbrook; Napa Super Street: 1. Josh Bailey, Wiscasset; 2. James Osmond, Wiscasset; 3. Shawn Austin, Norridgewock; 4. Dan Nessmith, Wiscasset; 5. Chuck Gray, Wiscasset

Winterport Dragway

Super Pro/Pro Final: 1. Bob Cousins, Brewer; 2. Gage Reynolds, Orono; Super Pro Eliminator: 1. Bob Cousins, Brewer; 2. Jerry Hatch, Lubec; Semifinalist, Jennifer Fusco, Turner;

Pro Eliminator: 1. Gage Reynolds, Orono; 2. Jim Collins, Waterville; Semifinalist, Luc Beaulieu, Winslow; Street Eliminator: 1. Christine Leeman, Letang, NB; 2. Randy Herrick, Stockton Springs; Semifinalist, Mark Norwood, Trenton; Bikes and Sleds: 1. Paul Keaten II, Athens;

2. Jim Marston , Fairfield; Semifinalist, Dennis Greene, Clinton; Jr. Dragster: 1. Danielle Fusco, Turner; 2. Johnathan Condon, Chelsea; Street Trophy: 1. Alyssa Walcott, Bernard; 2. Rebecca Lee , Wayne; Ford Day Race: 1. Dustin Calder , Campobello NB; 2. Mike Whitaker, S. China; Semifinalist, Raymond Campbell, Winslow


Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like