May 28, 2018
Bangor Latest News | Poll Questions | George HW Bush | Memorial Day | Long Creek

School news


AREA — The Perloff Family Foundation, in partnership with the Maine Community Foundation and the Maine Space Grant Consortium, offers grants focused on science, technology, engineering, and mathematics, or STEM, and the integration of STEM with the arts and humanities, or STEAM.

Grant recipients for the 2014-2015 academic school year are United Technologies Center in Bangor, Nokomis Regional High School in Newport and Blue Hill Consolidated School in Blue Hill.

The grant for United Technologies will fund an after-school Video Game Club that utilizes STEM education to create playable video games and apps.

Nokomis Regional High School will use its grant to investigate the environmental impact of logging practices on the school’s campus and community.

Blue Hill Consolidated School’s grant will help fund the IDEA Center, where students explore basic robotics, computational thinking, and digital and manual technologies to turn ideas into realities.

Educators interested in applying for a STEM4ME grant must submit a one-page letter of interest describing project objectives and key completion milestones by Sept. 15. Successful candidates will be asked to submit a formal application. For information on where and how to submit letters of interest, visit


Scholarships awarded

These area students were awarded scholarships at the Maine Innkeepers Education Foundation, affiliated with the Maine Innkeepers Association, 10th annual Tees and Textbooks event held June 9-10 in Rockport:

• Laura Brown of West Poland, attending Husson University in Bangor, received the Women in Hospitality Award of $3,000, sponsored by Nancy Gray, Maureen McQuade, Kathryn Weare, Jean Ginn Marvin, Marian Burns and Darlene Ratte.

• Kathryn Asalone of Hampden, attending the University of Maine, received the John “Jack” Gibbons Award  of $500, sponsored by Fisherman’s Wharf.

• Amanda Richard of Glenburn, attending Southern New Hampshire University, Manchester, New Hampshire, received the Mike Kazilonis Award of $1,000, sponsored by Sysco Northern New England.

A total of 12 awards were given.



Becker College

STILLWATER — Whitney Buck of Stillwater graduated on May 10 with a bachelor’s degree in veterinary science from Becker College in Worcester, Massachusetts.


Centenary College

BUCKSPORT — Rosanna Jacobsen of Bucksport was named on the dean’s list for the spring semester at Centenary College in Hackettstown, New Jersey.


Colby College

These area students graduated on May 25 with bachelor degrees from Colby College in Waterville:

• Kelly Bourgon, daughter of Michael and Debra Bourgon of Bucksport.

• Marianne Ferguson, daughter of Robert and Cecile Ferguson of Veazie.

• Ben Guido, son of Mark Guido of Montville and Jessica Jacobson of Bangor.

• Michael Jenkins, son of Thomas and Jo-Linda Jenkins of Hampden.

• Morgan Rublee, daughter of Roderick and Karen Rublee of Glenburn.


College of William and Mary

These area residents were named to the dean’s list for the spring semester at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia.

• Mary Case of Bangor.

• Sarah VanKirk of Veazie.


Endicott College

ORONO — Valerie Wallace of Orono was named to the dean’s list for the spring semester at Endicott College in Beverly, Massachusetts.


Mount Ida College

STETSON — Gabrielle Flewelling of Stetson was named to the dean’s list for the spring semester at Mount Ida College in Newton, Massachusetts.


Ithaca College

BREWER — Angela Patterson of Brewer graduated recently with a degree in environmental science from Ithaca College in Ithaca, New York.


Plymouth College

VEAZIE — Marissa Grandchamp of Veazie was named to the president’s list for the spring semester at Plymouth State University in Plymouth, New Hampshire.


Roger Williams University

ORONO — Elizabeth White of Orono was named to the dean’s list for the spring semester at Roger Williams University in Bristol, Rhode Island.


University of Massachusetts Dartmouth

ORLAND — Robert Mushrall III of Orland was named to the chancellor’s list for the spring semester at the University of Massachusetts in North Dartmouth, Massachusetts.


University of Rhode Island

These area students graduated May 17-18 from the University of Rhode Island in Kingston, Rhode Island:

• Samantha Bedore of Glenburn received a bachelor’s degree, cum laude.

• Charles Boyle of Orono received a bachelor’s degree, cum laude.


Worcester Polytechnic Institute

These area residents recently graduated with bachelor’s degrees from Worcester Polytechnic Institute in Worcester, Massachusetts:

• Scott Auxier of Hampden.

• Matthew Connolly of Corinth.

• Sarah Meehan of Brewer.

• Alan Snapp of Castine.

• John Swalec of Hampden graduated with high distinction.


Western New England University

HERMON — Colton Gross of Hermon received a bachelor’s degree, cum laude, in business administration on May 17 from Western New England University.

Named to the dean’s list at the university for the spring semester were:

• Colton Gross of Hermon.

• Thomas Cowin of Hampden.


Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like