April 24, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | George H.W. Bush | Litchfield Homicide | Schoolhouse Fire

National Football Foundation honors 20 Maine athletes


Twenty football players from around Maine, including 18 high school students, have been selected as recipients of the 27th annual scholar-athlete awards from the Howard Vandersea/Maine Chapter of the National Football Foundation.

Thanks to a gift from the Alfond Foundation, each high school honoree will receive a $500 scholarship from the Mac-Huard Fund to support their higher education endeavors.

This year’s high school scholar-athlete honorees are Ben Bath and Nicco DeLorenzo of Kennebunk, Thomas Feenstra of Cape Elizabeth, Ben Greenberg and Charles Raybine of Scarborough, Greg Grinnell and Cody O’Brien of Cheverus of Portland, Zach Guptill of Winslow, Andrew Libby and Cody Lynn of Thornton Academy of Saco, Lucas McCue and Joshua O’Neil Thibeault of Brunswick, Brendan Moore of Bangor, Levi Morin and Clay Rowland of Leavitt of Turner Center, Brian Rollins of Bonny Eagle of Standish, Jedidiah Scott of Sanford and Justin Zukowski of Portland.

Marcus Wasilewski of the University of Maine was the state’s college honoree, while Jhalen Bien-Aime of Bridgton Academy was recognized in the prep school ranks.

The recipients will be honored at a banquet at 6 p.m. Wednesday, May 21 at Bowdoin College’s Thorne Hall in Brunswick. Tickets are $30, and the public is invited to attend. For ticket information, call state of Maine chapter president Howard Vandersea at 729-4210.


Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like