June 25, 2018
Latest News | Poll Questions | John Williams | Red Meat Allergy | Bond Sale

UMaine’s Xavier Pollard named to America East men’s basketball third team

University of Maine | BDN
University of Maine | BDN
Xavier Pollard

ALBANY, N.Y. — Xavier Pollard, who served as the offensive catalyst for the University of Maine men’s basketball team this season, has been named to the America East All-Conference Third Team.

The announcements were made Friday during the annual awards luncheon held at the University at Albany, site of the America East Men’s and Women’s Basketball Championships.

Pollard, a junior from The Bronx, N.Y., was the only Black Bear to be accorded all-league honors.

The 6-foot-3 point guard ranked fourth in the conference, averaging 14.9 points per game. Pollard was third in assists (4.0), second in steals (1.7) and ranked fourth in assist-to-turnover ration at 1.3.

He also was eighth in field-goal percentage at .466 (135-for-290), 10th in minutes per game (32.3) and 16th in rebounding (4.4).

Pollard has excelled with a combination of strong ballhandling, good passing, aggressiveness attacking the basket and the ability to score from the perimeter. He also is a hard-nosed defender.

Sophomore forward Jameel Warney of Stony Brook was chosen as the Kevin Roberson Player of the Year. Vermont senior Brian Voelkel was named the Defensive Player of the Year, Rodney Elliott of Maryland Baltimore County was honored as the Rookie of the Year and UMass Lowell’s Antonio Bivins took home the league’s first-ever Sixth Man of the Year trophy.

John Becker of Vermont was tabbed the AE Coach of the Year.

Warney and Voelkel are joined on the All-AE first team by Mark Nwakamma of Hartford and Vermont’s Sandro Carissimo and Clancy Rugg.

The second team includes Peter Hooley and Sam Rowley of Albany, Jordan Reed of Binghamton, Carson Puriefoy of Stony Brook and Akeem Williams of UMass Lowell.

Chosen for the third team were Dave Coley and Anthony Jackson of Stony Brook, Pollard, Elliott and Bivins.

The all-rookie squad is made up of Yosef Yacob of Binghamton, Jacoby Armstrong of New Hampshire, Ahmad Walker of Stony Brook, Kurt Steidl of Vermont and Elliott.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like