May 28, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | George HW Bush | Memorial Day | Long Creek

Bowdoin field hockey coach named Div. III coach of the year


BRUNSWICK, Maine — Bowdoin College field hockey coach Nicky Pearson has been named the Division III Coach of the Year by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association.

It is the fourth time that Pearson has been named the NFHCA Division III Coach of the Year, following each of Bowdoin’s NCAA championship seasons (2007, 2008, 2010, 2013). This year, Pearson led the Polar Bears to an 18-3 overall record, their seventh national semifinal appearance and their fourth national championship with a 1-0 win over Salisbury on Nov. 24.

In her 18 seasons, Pearson has led Bowdoin to the postseason every year and has garnered seven New England Small College Athletic Conference Coach of the Year awards — the most of any coach in any sport in conference history. She has racked up 266 wins against just 54 losses in her time at Bowdoin, posting an .831 winning percentage.

Over the last four years Pearson’s teams have gone 73-9, recording a .890 winning percentage and claiming two national crowns.

The Hereford, England native is one of eight Bowdoin coaches to earn a National Coach of the Year award, along with Sidney Watson (men’s ice hockey, 1971, 1978), Terry Meagher (men’s ice hockey 1986, 1989), John Cullen (women’s soccer, 1992), Michele Amidon (women’s ice hockey, 2003) and Stefanie Pemper (women’s basketball, 2004).

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like