June 22, 2018
Auto Racing Latest News | Poll Questions | Border Patrol | Pride | Maple Syrup

Presque Isle, Ellsworth drivers among Maine Motorsports Hall of Fame inductees

Courtesy Photo | BDN
Courtesy Photo | BDN
Rodney "Chink" Maynard of Presque Isle is among seven 2014 inductees for the Maine Motorsports Hall of Fame.

AUBURN, Maine — Rodney “Chink” Maynard of Presque Isle and Bobby Alexander of Ellsworth are among seven people who have been selected to be inducted into the Maine Motorsports Hall of Fame.

The Selection Committee of the Maine Motorsports Hall of Fame also will induct Jimmy Burns, Bruce Elder, Mike Rowe, Bobby Tibbetts and the late Leland Kangas into the Class of 2014. The group of drivers racked up nearly 500 trips to victory lane between them.

Bobby Turner, co-chairman of the Selection Committee and member of the Maine Motorsports Hall of Fame, announced the inductees Nov. 3 at the General Meeting of the Maine Vintage Race Car Association.

Presented by the Maine Vintage Race Car Association, the Hall of Fame Class of 2014 dinner and induction ceremonies will be held Saturday, April 5, at the Augusta Civic Center. The Maine Motorsports Hall of Fame was founded in 2004 and has 72 members.

Alexander, a driver and race car fabricator, won more than 100 races during his 22-year racing career (1968-1990). He raced primarily at Speedway 95 in Hermon, Unity Raceway and Spud Speedway in Caribou. It wasn’t uncommon for Alexander to drive Friday at Unity, Saturday at Speedway 95 and Sunday at Spud.

Maynard enjoyed a 27-year racing career, from 1965 to 1992. He was a five-time track champion at Spud Speedway and won more than 100 races. He was the man to beat at the Caribou track with an excellent driving reputation.

Burns, from Winslow, began racing at Unity Raceway in 1969 and won track championships at Unity and Oxford Plains Speedway (1981-1983). He also raced and won at Wiscasset Speedway and Speedway 95 and competed on the NASCAR Busch North Series for O’Connor GMC.

Windham’s Elder began his involvement in racing in high school, helping Bob Bushley Sr. He started driving in 1966 at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway and won the “C” Class championship in 1971 before he retired from racing in 1977.

Elder was a Maine State Stock Car Racing Association official from 1977 to 1982, including three years as president, and served as the announcer at Beech Ridge for 12 years.

Kangas began racing in 1972 at Oxford Plains Speedway and was a four-time track champion, including the Charger (1973) and Late Model Sportsman (1985, ’86 and ’88). He piled up 48 career wins and was the 1980 NASCAR North Tour Rookie of the Year.

Rowe, of Turner, drove his first race in 1969 at Oxford Plains and continues to race. He has amassed 150 victories and six track championships at Oxford. He also has won track titles at Beech Ridge (2), Wiscasset Speedway and with the ACT Tour, the New England Pro Stock Association (NEPSA) and Pro All Star Series (PASS) Super Late Model Southern Tour.

Rowe is a three-time Oxford 250 champ.

Tibbetts, of Gray, began racing in 1964 at Oxford Plains Speedway and became the track’s first board of directors member that year. He raced Sportsman/Late Model Sportsman cars at Oxford, Wiscasset and Unity and won open competition races at Oxford, Wiscasset and Unity.

Reserved seat tickets for the Maine Motorsports Hall of Fame dinner and induction ceremonies are $40 each and must be purchased and ordered by March 1.

To request a ticket order form, contact the MVRCA at 50 Beech Ridge Road, York, ME 03909, by email at bmorris48@roadrunner.com or visit the MVRCA website at www.mainevintageracecars.com and click “forms” for a printable “ticket order form.”

For information about the Maine Motorsports Hall of Fame, visit the Maine Vintage Race Car Association website at www.mainevintageracecars.com.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like