UMaine’s Cosgrove earns AFCA regional honor

Posted Dec. 10, 2013, at 11:21 a.m.
Last modified Dec. 10, 2013, at 8:11 p.m.

ORONO, Maine — University of Maine head football coach Jack Cosgrove has been named the 2013 American Football Coaches Association FCS Region 1 Co-Coach of the Year. Cosgrove receives the AFCA Regional recognition for the first time in his 21-year career.

Coach Cosgrove, who was earlier named both the Colonial Athletic Association Coach of the Year as well as the New England Football Writers’ Association Jack Grinold New England Coach of the Year.

After being selected eighth in the CAA Football preseason poll, head coach Jack Cosgrove led the Black Bears to a 10-2 regular season and a 7-1 mark in the CAA. Coach Cosgrove guided the Black Bears to the CAA title for the first time in school history, earning a No. 5 seed in the NCAA FCS playoffs where Maine hosted its first ever postseason contest. Cosgrove, previously a two-time Atlantic-10 Coach of the Year (1996, 2001), is an Eddie Robinson Award finalist for the third time and earned the program’s 500th win when the Black Bears defeated FBS foe Massachusetts at Gillette Stadium.

The AFCA recognizes five regional Coach of the Year winners in each of the Association’s five divisions. The winners are selected by active members of the Association who vote for coaches in their respective regions and division. The AFCA began recognizing district coaches of the year following the 1960 season.

The 2013 Regional Coach of the Year winners will be recognized at the AFCA Coach of the Year Dinner at the 2014 AFCA Convention in Indianapolis, In. The AFCA will announce its five 2013 National Coach of the Year winners at the 2013 AFCA Convention. All head coaches who were eligible for regional honors are eligible for national honors as well. The dinner is scheduled for Tuesday, Jan. 14.

Coach Cosgrove shares the Region 1 honor with Fordham’s Joe Moorhead.


View stories by school