June 19, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Susan Collins | Tiny House Surprise | Stephen King

UMaine’s Wasilewski, Cosgrove honored

ORONO, Maine — Four members of the University of Maine football team and head coach Jack Cosgrove have been honored by the New England Football Writers’ Association.

Quarterback Marcus Wasilewski (Kulpmont, Pa.) has been honored as the Gold Helmet Player of the Year, while head coach Jack Cosgrove has been named the Jack Grinold New England Coach of the Year.

Wasilewski was also named to FCS All-New England team long with offensive lineman Jeff Gakos (Basking Ridge, N.J.), linebacker Christophe Mulumba (Montreal, Que.) and cornerback Kendall James (Roselle, N.J.).

Cosgrove, who also was named the Colonial Athletic Association Coach of the Year, receives the Grinold award for the second time in his career. He also won in 2011.

Cosgrove’s team was picked to finish eighth in the CAA, but posted a 10-2 regular-season, including a 7-1 CAA mark. The Bears won their first outright league title since 1965.

UMaine earned a No. 5 national seed in the NCAA FCS playoffs and hosts New Hampshire on Saturday at 2 p.m. in its first ever home postseason contest. Cosgrove also is a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Award presented to the top FCS coach.

Wasilewski, also named to the All-CAA first team and the recipient of the Chuck Boone Leadership Award, ranked second in the league in pass offense (253.7 yards per game). Wasilewski was 255-for-370 passing for 3,009 yards with 23 touchdowns.

The senior also rushed 141 times for 620 yards and three scores. He joins Warren Smith (2011) as the only UMaine quarterbacks to throw for 3,000 yards in a season.

Mulumba, an All-CAA first-team selection and the league’s defensive rookie of the year, led the team with 105 tackles, fifth most in the CAA. He is a finalist for the Jerry Rice award given to the FCS national rookie of the year.

Gakos, a first-team All-CAA selection, started 34 career games at left guard, second most among active Black Bears. Gakos helped anchor an offensive line which ranked second in the league in pass offense (253.7), fifth in scoring offense (30.0), fifth in total offense (429.8) and fifth in rushing offense (176.2).

James, an All-CAA first-teamer, led a Maine secondary which allowed a league-low 165.4 passing yards per game. James totaled 34 tackles to go with two interceptions, eight pass breakups and blocked a field-goal attempt.

James, Maine’s active leader in games started at 37, recorded his 100th career unassisted tackle earlier in the year.

Maine FH players All-Americans

Five field hockey players from Maine have been recognized as All-Americans.

The standouts include UMaine junior Annabelle Hamilton in Division I, along with Division III honorees Sarah Evans of Colby College in Waterville and Bowdoin’s Katie Riley, Olivia King and Rachel Kennedy.

Hamilton was picked for the Longstreth National Field Hockey Coaches Association Division I All-American third team. The junior captain led the team in points with 35 (13 goals and nine assists) and played in all 20 games for the 8-4 Black Bears.

Evans, Colby’s sophomore goaltender, was named to the National Field Hockey Coaches Association All-American First Team. She ranked first in the country in save percentage (.860) and led the NESCAC in fewest goals allowed (15).

Evans is Colby’s first-ever first-team All-American and the third player in program history to earn national honors.

Bowdoin’s Riley, King and Kennedy were all recognized as second-team All-Americans for the national champions.

Senior co-captains Riley and Kennedy ended the season tied with 21 goals each. Riley’s 59 points led the NESCAC and her 17 assists led the conference.

King dominated Bowdoin’s midfield this season, while playing a pivotal role in corner execution. She had a goal and eight assists.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like