Newport woman arrested after three encounters with police

Posted Nov. 19, 2013, at 1:12 p.m.
Last modified Nov. 19, 2013, at 1:44 p.m.
Andrea Gerry
Penobscot County Jail
Andrea Gerry

NEWPORT, Maine — Police encountered a local woman three times Monday before arresting her on two separate charges.

Newport police were called to a Spruce Street home at 8 a.m., Monday for a domestic disturbance, Newport police Chief Leonard Macdaid said Tuesday morning.

Andrea Gerry, 32, was disorderly, yelling and screaming at family members, Macdaid said.

“We assessed the situation when we got there and saw that she needed medical attention,” he said.

Gerry was transported to Sebasticook Valley Hospital in Pittsfield for undisclosed medical reasons, he said. Not long after Newport police dropped her off, Pittsfield police were called to the hospital.

“She was out of control,” said Pittsfield police Chief Steve Emery. “She was being loud and obnoxious, disorderly, slamming things around and trying to leave against the will of the emergency room.”

Pittsfield police took her back home from the hospital after she calmed down and hospital officials cleared her for release, said Emery.

At 3:30 p.m., Newport police were again called to the Spruce Street home, where she allegedly assaulted her mother and husband, said Macdaid. When Gerry was apprehended, hydrocodone was found in her possession.

Gerry was arrested and charged with domestic violence assault, a Class D misdemeanor, and for unlawful possession of a Schedule W drug, a Class C felony, Macdaid said.

She was transported to Penobscot County Jail in Bangor, but the jail refused her because of undisclosed medical reasons. Newport police then took her to Eastern Maine Medical Center in Bangor.

“We sat with her at the hospital until 4 a.m.,” said Macdaid. “We then took her to the jail at that point.”

Gerry remained in Penobscot County Jail on Tuesday afternoon.

She faces up to five years in prison and a maximum fine of $5,000 for the felony charge. She also faces up to a year in jail and a maximum $2,000 fine for the Class D charge.

SEE COMMENTS →

ADVERTISEMENT | Grow your business
ADVERTISEMENT | Grow your business

Similar Articles

More in Mid-Maine