June 20, 2018
Bangor Latest News | Poll Questions | Fuddruckers | Opioid Sales | RCV Ballots

Former Brewer mayor named to post again

Nok-Noi Ricker | BDN
Nok-Noi Ricker | BDN
Bangor City Council Chairman Ben Sprague, left, is given a City of Brewer coin by outgoing Brewer Mayor Kevin O'Connell after the joint city council-school board annual meeting on Nov. 19. 2013.
By Nok-Noi Ricker, BDN Staff

BREWER, Maine — Two-time Deputy Mayor Jerry Goss was named mayor again at the Brewer City Council’s annual meeting held Tuesday night at Jeff’s Catering, even though he was not in attendance.

“Councilor Goss is not here tonight because his father passed away,” the Rev. Roger Davis, Brewer Police Department’s chaplain, announced at the beginning of the meeting.

Outgoing Mayor Kevin O’Connell read the speech prepared by Goss, who also was mayor for the city in 2011.

Brewer has a number of strengths and opportunities but also a number of weaknesses and threats, Goss said in his acceptance speech.

Strengths include “a strong pool of experienced workers willing to adapt to the changing economy,” a great school system, strong economic development team and a beautiful waterfront that is improving, he said.

But no downtown, constant competition from Bangor for economic development, and the city’s reputation “as a discount locale” are the city’s weaknesses, Goss noted.

By working together, we can “develop and implement a strategic marketing strategy that will help Brewer officials spread the word about the city’s strengths as a place to do business,” the new mayor said.

O’Connell and newly elected City Council member Bev Uhlenhake were also sworn in as members of the council during the meeting. Uhlenhake, who currently sits on the planning board, said she will have to give up being a planner but may be able to stay on as a member of the city’s Comprehensive Planning Committee.

Julie Milan, who ran unopposed for the Brewer School Committee seat held by David Austin, and Brewer High School district trustee incumbent Manley DeBeck were sworn in as members of their panels, along with student school board member Anna Maxsimic.

The school board appointed Mike Hutchins chairperson and Kevin Forrest as assistant chairperson for the next year.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like