June 19, 2018
High School Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Susan Collins | Tiny House Surprise | Stephen King

Telstar’s Holt-Andrews third at New England cross country championships

By Ernie Clark, BDN Staff

MANCHESTER, N.H. — Josef Holt-Andrews, a senior at Telstar Regional High School in Bethel, finished third Saturday at the 79th New England Interscholastic Cross Country Championships.

Holt-Andrews, the reigning Class C state champion, completed the 5-kilometer Derryfield Park course in 15 minutes, 12.9 seconds to trail only winner Trevor Hopper of Ridgefield, Conn., (15:08.5) and Alex Ostberg of Darien, Conn. (15:11.0) in the boys race.

Liam Simpson of Class B state champion Cape Elizabeth was the second-fastest Mainer in the race, finishing eighth in 15:45.1.

Other Mainers among the top 50 were Will Shafer of Gray-New Gloucester (17th), Brayden Beardsley of Ellsworth (32nd), Josh Horne of Mt. Blue of Farmington (38th) and Peter Doane of Cape Elizabeth (41st).

Beardsley’s Ellsworth teammate Dan Curts, the two-time Class B state champion, did not compete in the race as he continues to recover from a hamstring injury.

Class A champion Lewiston was the top Maine team in the boys race, with junior Isaiah Harris’ 51st-place finish leading the Blue Devils to eighth place among the 30 competing schools with 272 points. Cape Elizabeth finished 11th with 357 points.

LaSalle Academy of Providence, R.I.,was the boys team champion with 99 points, three ahead of second-place Ridgefield, Ct.

Coe-Brown Northfield Academy of Northfield, N.H., won the girls team title with 78 points, followed by Barrington, R.I., with 99 points.

Three-time Class B state champion Mount Desert Island of Bar Harbor was the top Maine girls team, placing 12th in its 30-school field with 366 points. The Trojans were led by senior Isabel Erickson and junior Waylon Henggeler, who placed 69th and 70th — two-tenths of a second apart — among the 264 runners who completed the race.

Class A state champion Bonny Eagle of Standish was next among Maine teams and 18th overall with 454 points.

Class B individual state champion Kirstin Sandreuter of Greely of Cumberland Center was the top Maine runner in the girls race, placing fourth in 17:48.6. Hannah Debalsi of Staples High School in Westport, Conn., was the individual champion in 17:15.8, with Claire Howlett of Westhill High School in Stamford, Conn., second in 17:39.5.

Other Mainers among the top 50 were Mary Szatkowski of Bonny Eagle (44th) and Aleta Looker of Ellsworth (48th).

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like