May 27, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Memorial Day | Bangor Day Trips | Center for Wildlife

Maine teams, individuals to compete in New England cross country championship Saturday

George Almasi | Times Record
George Almasi | Times Record
Ellsworth High School’s Aleta Looker (258) and Greely’s Kirstin Sandreuter (279) took the early lead in the state Class B cross country championships Saturday in Cumberland. Sandreuter went on to win in 18 minutes, 37.96 seconds while Looker was second in 19:49.43. Both will be competing in this Saturday’s New England championship in Manchester, N.H.
By Ernie Clark, BDN Staff

The 79th New England cross country championship meet will kick off Saturday at Derryfield Park in Manchester, N.H.

The girls race is at 11:30 a.m. with the boys race at 12:30 p.m.

Each state is allowed to send six boys and girls teams and the top 25 boys and girls runners regardless of class.

In Maine, each state championship team is eligible along with the next three top boys and girls teams when the state meet is scored as a single event rather than separated into Classes A, B and C.

Individual qualifiers are the fastest 25 boys and girls at the state meet regardless of class.

Boys teams eligible to represent Maine in the New Englands are state champions Lewiston (Class A), Cape Elizabeth (Class B) and Boothbay (Class C) along with Class B Ellsworth and Class A Scarborough and Bangor.

When the boys meet was scored as a single event, Cape Elizabeth won with 103 points, followed by Lewiston (112), Ellsworth (148), Scarborough (185) and Bangor (220). Boothbay finished with 473 points to rank 18th overall among the 41 scoring boys squads in the three classes.

Boys individual qualifiers were led by two-time Class B individual state champion Dan Curts of Ellsworth, who had the fastest time of the day at the state meet. Other qualifiers were Brayden Beardsley and Robert Looker of Ellsworth; Liam Simpson, Peter Doane and Mitch Morris of Cape Elizabeth; Will Shafer of Gray-New Gloucester; Josh Horne and Dan Lesko of Mt. Blue of Farmington; Braden Becker of Yarmouth; Josef Holt-Andrews of Telstar of Bethel; Isaiah Harris and Mohamed Awil of Lewiston; Caleb Lord of Hampden Academy; Chris Cote of Waterville; Chandler Vincent of Freeport; Jonathan Stanhope of Bangor; Ben Trapani of Camden Hills of Rockport; Jesse Southard of Gorham; Colin Tardiff and Jacob Terry of Scarborough; Logan Moses of Messalonskee of Oakland; Matthew Toussaint of Fort Kent; Ryan Cadorette of Thornton Academy of Saco; and Yahye Hussein of Deering of Portland.

Qualifying girls teams were three-time reigning Class B state champion Mount Desert Island of Bar Harbor, two-time reigning Class A state champion Bonny Eagle of Standish, Class C state champion Orono, Class A Massabesic and Falmouth and Class B Freeport.

When the three girls state meets were scored as a single event, MDI won with 136 points, followed by Bonny Eagle (157), Massabesic (190), Falmouth (226) and Freeport (225). Orono totaled 319 points, good for ninth overall among the 37 competing teams.

Pacing Maine’s individual schoolgirl qualifiers were Class B champion Kirstin Sandreuter of Greely of Cumberland Center and Class A champ Kialeigh Marston of Bonny Eagle. Other qualifiers were Shannon Conley and Casey Loring of South Portland; Aleta Looker of Ellsworth; Kiera Murray of Cheverus of Portland; Mary Szatkowski and Kristen Glennon of Bonny Eagle; Gabrielle Johnson and Angel Waters of Massabesic; Maddy Doyle of Marshwood of Eliot; Elizabeth Labun of Hampden Academy; Isabel Erickson, Waylon Henggeler and Lydia Dacorte of MDI; Anne Guadalupi of Cony of Augusta; Farhiyo Aden of Lewiston; Carsyn Koch of Washburn; Brittany Bowman of Camden Hills; Hannah Austin of North Yarmouth Academy; Tessa Cassidy of Brunswick; Tia Tardy of Mattanawcook Academy of Lincoln; Sydney Ambrose of Freeport; Madeline Roberts of Falmouth; and Heather Evans of York.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like