May 27, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Memorial Day | Bangor Day Trips | Center for Wildlife

Old Town seeking first field hockey regional title since ’88 in EM final Tuesday

By Larry Mahoney, BDN Staff

HAMPDEN, Maine — In the three seasons before Sarah Estes and her father, Skip, took over the Old Town High School field hockey program two years ago, the Coyotes went 7-32-3.

Head coach Sarah and assistant Skip led Old Town to a 9-5-1 record last season and now the 14-1-1 Coyotes will be playing for an Eastern Maine Class B championship when they face 16-0 Nokomis of Newport at 7:30 p.m. on Tuesday.

All three EM title games will be held at Hampden Academy. The Class C contest between 15-0-1 Foxcroft Academy and 15-1 Winslow will start at 3:30 p.m. and the A matchup between 16-0 Skowhegan and 14-2 Messalonskee of Oakland will begin at 5:30 p.m.

All three games feature the top two seeds in each class, with Skowhegan, Nokomis and Foxcroft being the No. 1 seeds.

Skowhegan has won 12 straight regional titles, the last five at Messalonskee’s expense, and the Indians have won 11 state championships in those 12 years.

Skowhegan handed Messalonskee its two losses this season, 2-1 and 3-1.

Coach Paula Doughty’s Indians have won a state-record 73 straight games.

Skowhegan is the defending three-time state champ while Messalonskee won its last regional title in 2000. Nokomis was the 2010 state B champ but Old Town last won a regional crown in 1988. Foxcroft won the EM Class C title in 2010 while Winslow’s last regional title was in B in 2003.

Old Town has reached the EM title game thanks to the play of senior goalie Erica Ogden, who made 17 saves in a 2-1 quarterfinal win over Waterville and held Gardiner scoreless in the penalty corner shootout as Old Town rallied from two one-goal deficits to win 3-2 .

Backs Taylor Bowers, Kristyn Bell, Sarah Plunkett and Lizzy Colannino have been very dependable and Kate Rawson has a team-high two playoff goals.

Nokomis features Drew Graves, Lindsay Whitney, Taylor Shaw and Kirsten Costedio along with goalie Kendra Underhill.

Foxcroft Academy has outscored its opponents 64-1.

Highly-skilled midfielder Mackenzie Coiley and high-scoring Julia Annis have paced FA along with Amber Anderson and Abby Simmons while Winslow has allowed only four goals behind its back line of Bethany Winkin, Cierra Poulin, Alyssa Wood and Katie Smith.

Raider Mackenzie Winslow has scored six playoff goals.

Brooke Michonski, Renee Wright, Allison Lancaster and Rylie Blanchet have paced a dynamic Skowhegan attack that has scored 123 goals.

Emily Hogan scored in both Messalonskee playoff wins. The Eagles have a top-notch goalie in Abby Roberts and quality players in Kylie Knight and Mikayla Turner.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like