June 23, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Border Patrol | Energy Scam | Toxic Moths

Husson Sports Hall of Fame to enshrine six


BANGOR, Maine — Husson University has announced that it will induct six former student-athletes into its third sports hall of fame class in December.

Joe Alvarez, Kelly A. Dow, Leah Drew Harvey, Aaron Largay, Mike McCaffrey and Ross Salovitch will be honored for their accomplishments during a Dec. 6 banquet that kicks off Husson’s Sports Hall of Fame Weekend.

Dow, who graduated in 2000, starred for the women’s basketball team from 1996-2000. She scored 1,249 career points to rank fifth all time at Husson and also is second in blocked shots (141), third in field-goal percentage (.501) and sixth with 650 rebounds.

She helped Husson reach the 1999 NAIA nationals and earned Maine Athletic Conference Player of the Year recognition. She was a two-time All-MAC first-team pick.

Largay (Class of 2000) was a four-year starter at second base for the baseball team. He was a three-time all-league choice and was the MAC Player of the Year in 2000, when he was an NAIA All-America honorable mention.

Largay batted .427 with 41 runs batted in as a senior.

Drew Harvey (2006) was a goalkeeper for the Husson women’s soccer team and helped it win the 2006 North Atlantic Conference championship. She was a three-time all-conference selection and graduated as the school’s career leader in games played, saved, save percentage and shutouts.

Alvarez (2002) helped the Husson golf team post a 9-2 record in his one year at the school. The NAIA All-American first-team selection was the 2001 Maine Athletic Conference Golfer of the Year and led Husson to a 20th-place finish at the NAIA nationals.

McCaffrey (1999) was a four-year starter for the men’s basketball squad. The two-year captain led Husson to berths in the nationals in 1997 and 1999 and was an NAIA Academic All-American.

McCaffrey ranks third all time at Husson with 254 3-pointers and 3-point percentage (.404) and is eighth with 1,328 career points.

Salovitch (2008) becomes Husson’s first football hall of fame pick. The linebacker racked up 249.5 career tackles, including 39 tackles for a loss, 12.5 sacks, six fumble recoveries, four interceptions and a blocked kick.

UMM to induct Plunkett Robinson

The University of Maine-Machias will induct former women’s basketball and volleyball coach Fran Plunkett Robinson and its entire 1990-91 men’s basketball team into the Clipper Athletics Hall of Fame during Homecoming and Family Weekend on Sept. 28.

Robinson coached UMM’s women’s basketball and volleyball teams from 1971-1991. That included guiding the hoop squad to a state title during 1975-76.

Robinson also is credited with bringing volleyball to Washington County high schools in the mid-1970s.

The 1990-91 men’s basketball team captured the NAIA District 5 Championship and earned a berth in the NAIA National Tournament in Kansas City.

Coach Sean Casey’s team was the first in school history to win a conference title. Led by All-Americans Drew Meredith and Todd Middleton, the Clippers went 22-5.

Other team members included Jeff Matthews, Michael Payne, Jeff Alley, Ade Orelaja, Kristof Kovacs, Ian Talley, Derek Johnson, Derek Wilson and Bill Tanguay. John Kohtala was the assistant coach.

Carroll LaHaye, a member of the 1975-76 women’s basketball team who was inducted last year, also will be honored during a ceremony scheduled for 6 p.m. in the Reynolds Center Gymnasium.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like