June 18, 2018
Auto Racing Latest News | Poll Questions | Tiny House Surprise | Antiquing | Stephen King

Kalel holds off Saunders to capture Late Model race at Speedway 95

HERMON, Maine — For the second week in a row, rain forced Speedway 95 officials to cut the program short Saturday night before all scheduled racing was completed for the night.

John Kalel II of Orrington won the Dysart’s Late Model feature postponed from last week by about a foot over defending champion Andy Saunders of Ellsworth.

Kalel led every lap of the event from the pole to the checkers, but Saunders made a steady run from his midpack starting spot, putting his car in the second spot on lap 22 of the 40-lap event after a lengthy battle for the position with Duane Seekins of Stockton Springs.

After finally passing Seekins, Saunders steadily gained ground on Kalel, catching him as the two- to-go sign was shown by the flagman, Saunders was beside Kalel when the white flag flew, but Kalel hung onto his lead and beat Saunders to the checkers by a nose.

Saunders finished second with Seekins finishing third. Rookie Andrew McLaughlin of Harrington took the fourth spot with Steuben’s Brenton Parritt finishing fifth.

OTHER 95 RESULTS — Sport Four: 1. Donny Silva, Hudson; 2. Darren Durrell, Newburgh; 3. Zach Audet, Skowhegan; 4. Ted Ryder, Carmel; 5. Bradley Dolan, Glenburn; Darling’s Ford Sportsman: 1. Kris Watson, Hermon; 2. Kris Matchett, Skowhegan; 3. Bradley Smart, Bradley; 4. Joe Leger, Milford; 5. Mike Overlock, Franklin; Bombers: 1. Scott Bonney, Bangor; 2., Denis Burns, Carmel; 3. Mark Lane, Newport; 4. Dustan Durrell, Newburgh; 5. Trey Brown

Wiscasset Speedway

Strictly Street: 1. Corey Morgan, Lewiston; 2. Ben Erskine, Farmington; 3. Tasha Dyer, Arrowsic; 4. Mike Moody, Topsham; 5. Zac Poland, Woolwich; Mini Trucks: 1. Opie Allard, Harpswell; 2. Jeff Schmidt, Mechanic Falls; 3. Ryan Farrar, Sumner; 4. Christopher Knox, Sanford; 5. Matt Curtis, Freeport; Outlaw Mini: 1. Justin Trombley, Winter Harbor; 2. Shawn Kimball, Pittston; 3. Nate Tribbett, Richmond; 4. Tim Collins, Farmingdale; 5. Norman Cummings Jr, Augusta; Amsoil Nelcar Legends: 1. John Peters, Durham; 2. Matthew Bourgoine, Newport; 3. Wyatt Alexander, Ellsworth; 4. Shawn Buffington, Plainfield, Conn.; 5. Alan Smith, Lincoln; Late Model Sportsman: 1. Tyler Robbins, Montville; 2. Nick Hinkley, Wiscasset; 3. Alex Waltz, Walpole; 4. Bill Pinkham, Wiscasset; 5. Dan Trask, Chelsea

Winterport Dragway

Big Rig Race: 1. Nick Davis, Canaan; 2. Percy Craford, Enfield; Heavy Haulers Race: 1. Jon Canty, W. Gardiner; 2. Ben Wilson, Ellsworth; Super Diesel Race: 1. Drew Eaton, Deer Isle;

2. John Canty, W. Gardiner; Tough Truck Race: 1. Kevin Fish, Hampden; 2. Pete Carney, Hancock; Race Truck Race: 1. Mike Whittaker, S. China; 2. Gage Reynolds, Old Town

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like