May 21, 2018
Auto Racing Latest News | Poll Questions | Concussions | Maine Media College | Boston Red Sox

Last Chance 150 up for grabs Sunday at Unity Raceway

By Larry Mahoney, BDN Staff

UNITY, Maine — There is no shortage of viable contenders for Sunday afternoon’s second annual Last Chance 150 Late Model race at Unity Raceway.

Racing begins at 1 p.m.

Fort Kent’s Austin Theriault, who won the inaugural race at Caribou’s Spud Speedway last year, won’t be racing because he will be running in the ARCA/CRA Super Series 100 at Winchester Speedway (Ind.) on Monday.

But last year’s second-place finisher, Mike Hopkins of Hermon, third-place finisher David Folsom of Skowhegan and Deane Smart of Bradley, who was fourth, are among the favorites to pocket the $2,000 winner’s share.

Also in the field are Jeff Burgess of Fairfield, Burnham’s Brian Whitney and Palmyra’s Ajay Picard, who won the Unity points title last season.

“There are five or six guys who could have no problem winning it,” said Smart. “You’ve got to stay out of trouble until you get to the last 40 laps.”

Smart, driving a Doug Sinclair car, has four feature wins at Unity this season and is leading the points. He is fourth in the points at Speedway 95 in Hermon.

Jere Humphrey, who is leasing the track, said Hopkins turned in an impressive performance at Unity last weekend.

“He started eighth and won it. It was a 35-lapper and was caution-free,” said Humphrey. “And Mike likes the longer races.”

“Mike had four new tires and that helped him,” said Smart.

Smart said his car has been running well of late and admitted being a regular at Unity definitely helps.

“With a 150-lap race, you never know what’s going to happen,” said Humphrey.

In addition to the $2,000 first prize, the second-place finisher will take home a paycheck of $1,000 and third place will be good for $750. Even the last-place finisher will make $125.

Weekly Late Model winners take home $650.

Humphrey said the leader of each lap will receive $5.

There will also be a Last Chance 44 (lap) Monsta’ Mini-stock race for 4-cylinder cars. That will pay $500 to win and there will also be lap money. A weekly Monsta-Mini win pays $150.

There will also be a NELCAR Legends car race and five support divisions.

Wacky Wednesday champs crowned

Points champions were crowned for Wacky Wednesday racing at Hermon’s Speedway 95.

Bangor’s Roger Smith Jr. captured his first Big Enduro title by just six points over Dover-Foxcroft’s Shawn Racila. Hampden’s Travis Beal beat Dixmont’s Rick Gomm by 31 points in the Little Enduro class; Jim Carr Jr. of Clifton topped Hermon’s Sinclair by 42 points in the Trucks; Hermon’s Rhonda Wilbur captured the Ladies Division by 72 points over West Enfield’s Amy Houde; and Kenduskeag’s William McCullough captured the Stars of Tomorrow class by 22 points over Dustin Durrell of Newburgh.

Eastport teen wins title

Fifteen-year-old Drew Greenlaw of Eastport became the first American to win a track points championship in the 20-year history of Speedway 660 in Geary, New Brunswick.

He posted six wins en route to capturing the Bandolero Division title.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like