March 24, 2018
Auto Racing Latest News | Poll Questions | March for Our Lives | Marissa Kennedy | Maine Axes

Hermon’s Watson edges Legere in race, series at Speedway 95


HERMON, Maine — Hermon’s Kris Watson raced side by side with Milford’s Joe Legere over most of the second half of the 50-lap Darling’s Bangor Ford Series race three at Speedway 95 Saturday night, took the lead in the final five laps and went on to take the win.

Legere had led the first half of the event while Watson was mired in traffic. But once free, Watson caught Legere and the race was on between the two drivers who were tied in series points when the final race of the series began.

The two raced side by side with Watson on the inside and Legere on the outside until Legere’s car became loose in the corners and began to fade. Legere finished in second with 2012 division champion Steve Moulton finishing third in a car that was smoking and not up to its usual speed. Fourth went to Bradley’s Deane Smart with Lindsey Young of Winterport finishing fifth.

With his win, Watson took the overall series win by two points over Legere, who finished second in the three-race series. Skowhegan’s Kris Matchett was third in the series points despite an early exit from the 50-lap finale.

OTHER 95 RESULTS — Dysart’s Late Models: 1. Andy Saunders, Ellsworth; 2. Donny Blanchard, Bangor; 3. Wayne Parritt Jr., Steuben; 4. Ryan Deane, Winterport; 5. Chris Ryan, Carmel; Keystone Automotive Strictly Street: 1. Shelby Kimball,Cornville; 2. Jordan Pearson, Glenburn; 3. Alex Berry, Harrington; 4. Dave Gray, Dixmont; 5. Matt Kimball, Cornville;

Sport-Fours; 1. Donny Silva, Hudson; 2. Ted Ryder, Carmel; 3. Kevin Hartley, Hermon; 4. Tim Robinson, Clinton; 5. Jim Goodman Jr., Orrington; Bombers: 1. Scott Bonney, Bangor; 2. Denis Burns, Carmel; 3. Mark Lane, Newport; Chris Carroll, Greenbush; 5. Zach Audet, Skowhegan;

Wicked Good Vintage Racing League: 1. Forrest Davis, Glenburn; 2. Scott Tucker, Winthrop; 3. Norris Willette, Norridgewock; 4. Bob Symonds; 5. Keith Smalley, Warren

Unity Raceway

Central Maine Disposal Late Model Sportsman Division: 1. Deane Smart, Bradley; 2. Ryan St. Clair, Liberty; 3. Will Collins, Waldoboro; Pepsi-Cola Strictly Streets Division: 1. Chris King, Burnham; 2. Carl McAlpine, Burnham; 3. Zach Audet, Skowhegan; Yankee Communications Monsta Mini Division: 1. Cole Robinson, Clinton; 2. Kyle Robinson, Clinton;

3. Donny Silva, Hudson; New England Race Fuel Flyin’ Fours Division: 1. Zach Audet, Skowhegan; 2. Paul Jackson, Fairfleld; 3. Richard Jackson, Fairfield; Town Square Media Enduro Division: 1. Zach Audet,Skowhegan; 2. Mike Flagg, Brooks; 3. John Fortier; Workstore Ladies Division: 1. Chelsea Young, Winterport; 2. Melissa Higgins, Charleston; 3. Ashley Perry, Oakland; National Guard Lil’ Rascals: 1. Alex Runci, Frankfort; 2. Colby Robbins, Montville;

3. Kyle Jackson, Fairfield

Wiscasset Speedway

Thunder 4’s: 1. Dan Trask, Chelsea; 2. Cody Robbins, Winslow; 3. Nate Tribbett, Richmond;

4.Ryan Chadwick, Wiscasset; 5. Adam Armstrong, Bath; Super Stock: 1. Adam Chadbourne, Woolwich; 2. James Osmond, Wiscasset; 3. Bobby Mesimer, Woolwich; 4. Josh Bailey, Wiscasset; 5. Dan Nessmith, Wiscasset; Pro Stock: 1. Jeff Burgess, East Madison; 2. Chris Thorne, Sidney; 3. Mike Orr, Wiscasset; 4. Bill Penfold, Oxford; 5. Casey Nash, Richmond; New England 4-Cylinder Pro Stock: 1. Tim Jeski, Drakut, Mass.; 2. Jeff Prindall, Lisbon Falls; 3. Craig Dunn, Strong; 4. Dave Patten, Windham; 5. Bob Patten, Windham; Enduro: 1. Jeff Hebert; 2. Nicholas Hanson; 3. Steve Turner; 4. Phil Main Jr, Boothbay; 5. Randy Henderson;

Winterport Dragway

Super Pro/Pro Final: 1. Ron Buffington, Millinocket; 2. Paul Henckel, Old Orchard Beach; Super Pro Eliminator Race: 1. Paul Henckel, Old Orchard Beach; 2. Bob Bower, W. Gardiner; Semifinalist: Bob Cousins, Brewer; Pro Eliminator: 1. Ron Buffington, Millinocket; 2. Wayne Paul, Belfast; Semifinalist: Willy Larrabee, Stockton Springs;Bikes/Sleds: 1. Paul Keaten II, Athens; 2. Jim Marston, Fairfield; Street Eliminator: 1. Gage Reynolds, Old Town; 2.. Tim Wilcox, Easton; Semifinalist: Ross Merrill, Dover-Foxcroft; Street Trophy: 1. Bill Dammier, Deer Isle; 2. Ross Merrill, Dover-Foxcroft; Semifinalist: Jamie Ross, St. George New Brunswick; Nostalgia Day: 1. Jamie Ross, St. George, New Brunswick; 2/ Bill Dammier, Deer Isle; Semifinalist: Dwight Overlock, Owls Head; Camaro vs. Mustang: 1. Scott Gove, Dennysville;

2. Marcel Busque, Pittsfield;Semifinalist: Bill Dammier. Deer Isle

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like