May 22, 2018
Sports Latest News | Poll Questions | Marijuana Ties | Mary Mayhew | Car Theft

Windsor driver rallies to win third Ikey Dorr race at Speedway 95

HERMON, Maine — Maurice Young of Windsor started on the pole for the third annual 50-lap Ikey Dorr Memorial Street Stock race at Speedway 95 Thursday night, and it looked like an easy win until a caution flag closed the field and he had to rally to take the victory.

A collision with Carl McAlpine of Burnham following a lap-29 restart spun them out on the front stretch while fighting for the lead. Young and McAlpine were both sent to the rear of the field for the restart, and when the green flag waved, Young pointed his car toward the front and wheeled it through the field, taking the lead from Zach Audet of Skowhegan halfway through lap 48 and leading the final lap and a half to post the win.

Young, who usually competes at Unity Raceway, collected $2,000 for the victory.

Audet finished second with Burnham’s Chris King finishing third. Andy Turbovsky of Winslow finished fourth on the track, but was disqualified in post-race inspection for an illegal camshaft. Ryan Robinson of Clinton was moved up to fourth with Carl McAlpine of Burnham awarded fifth. Rounding out the top 10 were Zach Emerson of Sabattus, Hermon’s Bernie Thayer, Jordan Pearson of Levant, Jim Robichaud of Orrington and Jim Bragdon of Corinth.

Twenty-two cars started the event, held in memory of Ikey Dorr of Addison, a former racer at Speedway 95 who died of a heart attack while racing on June 6, 2009. The race also raised funds for Wreaths Across America.

Other race results — Late Models: 1. Ryan Deane, Winterport; 2. Andy Saunders, Ellsworth; 3. John Kalel II, Orrington; 4. Deane Smart, Bradley; 5. Lloyd Nickerson, Corinth; Darling’s Ford Sportsman: 1. Steve Moulton, Holden; 2. Kris Matchett, Skowhegan; 3. Kris Watson, Hermon; 4. Bradley Smart, Bradley; 5. Mike Overlock, Franklin; Sport Fours: 1. Kevin Hartley, Hermon; 2. Bradley Dolan, Glenburn; 3. Ted Ryder, Carmel; 4. Donny Silva, Hudson; 5. Jeff Overlock Jr., Hermon; Bombers: 1. Mark Lane, Newport; 2. Scott Bonney, Bangor; 3. Denis Burns, Carmel.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like