May 25, 2018
Auto Racing Latest News | Poll Questions | DHHS Report | Islesboro Ferry | Election 2018

Ikey Dorr Memorial Race to roll at Speedway 95 Thursday night


HERMON, Maine — Drivers will vie for a $2,000 first-place prize when the green flag drops for the third annual Ikey Dorr Memorial Race for Street Stock, Wildcat and Outlaw cars at 7 p.m. Thursday at Speedway 95.

The race commemorates Dorr, an Addison native who died after suffering a heart attack while racing at Speedway 95 on June 6, 2009.

The second-place finisher in the 50-lap race will take home $1,000 and the third-place driver will earn $750.

A regular Street Stock race at Speedway 95 pays $200 to win, $125 for second and $100 for third.

The other finishers also will earn some money depending upon the sponsorship dollars available.

The race will benefit Wreaths Across America, which provides wreaths for graves of fallen soldiers at Arlington National Cemetery.

Andrew McLaughlin of Harrington won the first two races, but will not be competing Thursday because he is now running in the Late Model division.

Top contenders in the Dorr race could be the Street Stock points leaders at Speedway 95: Alex Berry of Harrington (922) and sister and brother Shelby Kimball (910) and Matt Kimball (881) of Cornville. Berry is racing in McLaughlin’s former car, which his family purchased during the off-season.

WEDNESDAY’S RACE RESULTS — Speedway 95: Pickup Trucks: 1. Jim Carr Jr., Clifton; 2. Doug Sinclair, Hermon; 3. Jason Haskell, Levant; 4. Mike Gilberrt, Canaan; 5. Jeff Overlock Jr., Hermon; Stars of Tomorrow; 1. Dustin Durrell, Newburgh; 2. Dylan Street, Old Town; 3. Kyle Moore, Frankfort; 4. William McCullough, Kenduskeag; 5. Trey Brown, Winterport; Ladies Division: 1. Amy Houde, Howland; 2. Rhonda Wilbur, Hermon; 3. Erin Evans, Milo; 4. Nicole Smith, Clifton; Little Enduro: 1. Travis Beale, Hampden; 2. Henry Boudreau, Winterport; 3.Sam Betts, Brewer; 4. Rick Gomm, Dixmont; Big Enduro: 1. Woody Davis, Glenburn; 2. Duane Dunifer, Carmel; 3. Roger Smith, Clifton; 4. Shawn Racila, Dover-Foxcroft

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like