June 20, 2018
Golf Latest News | Poll Questions | Immigration | Lumber Market | RCV Ballots

Deer Isle student named top scholar by Maine State Golf Association

Terry Farren | BDN
Terry Farren | BDN
In Class C, Sam Grindle of Deer Isle eyes the flag on the 5th hole as he chips on the green of Arrowhead at Natanis Golf Course in Vassalboro, during Individual High School Championships, in October 2012.
By Dave Barber, BDN Staff

CUMBERLAND, Maine — Sam Grindle of Deer Isle is one of more than a dozen people who will receive scholarship awards from the Maine State Golf Association for the 2013-14 college school year.

Grindle also earned the Winchenbach Award for being the top scholar in the field.

Grindle, a senior at Deer Isle-Stonington High School, was the winner of the Maine Principals’ Association Class C boys state individual championship in October.

The other scholarship recipients are: Spencer LaPierre of Gorham, Kyle Bickford of Cumberland, Thomas Murray of Bangor, Peter Carley of York, Wyatt Foster of Howland, Joshua Pepin of Kennebunk, Colton Davis of Bryant Pond, Tyler McDevitt of Morrill, Chris Hillier of Bangor, Joshua Bailey of East Vassalboro and Edward Socker of Camden.

Meghan Bickford of Cumberland is the Women’s Maine State Golf Association scholarship recipient, and Brad Myers of Buxton earned a one-time golf contributions award.

The scholarship awards are $1,500 and annually renewable for up to four years as long as the recipient remains in good standing with his or her school.

With this year’s awards, the MSGA will have presented more than $1.4 million in financial aid since the fund, originally called the Caddie Fund, was started in 1950. More than 500 boys and girls have received that scholarship aid.

According to MSGA criteria, candidates for the scholarships must have shown an active interest in Maine golf as a player, caddie or worker at an MSGA member course or golf shop; must have demonstrated financial need in order to attend college; must be graduates or prospective graduates of an approved secondary school; must be a legal Maine resident; and must possess outstanding character, leadership and integrity based on participation in extracurricular, civic or community activities.

Applications are accepted beginning Jan. 1 of each year with an April 1 deadline. The scholarship committee then reviews the applications and determines the recipients.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

You may also like